Solved SP3 Touchscreen doesn't work in a single row.

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by vincenty911, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. vincenty911

    vincenty911 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just bought a SP3 from amazon and the touchscreen does not seem to work in a row of pixels. I've tried calibration, resetting calibration, wiping the screen. Nothing seems to work. The only thing I've noticed is when starting up surface I see a thin yellow line where the row of unresponsive touch is.
    ex.
    =====================
    !%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    !%%%%%Surface%%%%%%%
    !%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    =====================
    =====================
    The exclamation marks represent the yellow thin line. The percentage signs mean unresponsive touch. The equals signs mean normal working touchscreen pixels. (This is the boot screen). I do not know if this surface was in contact with water, are there any water damage indicators? I also clean installed Windows 10 and am not sure if the correct drivers are installed - Everything just worked when I installed Windows 10.

    Thanks,
    Vincent
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    It sounds like you have tried a lot of things to fix a problem that is very likely hardware and can't be fixed doing what you have done. I would have assumed hardware from the start. Get it exchanged.
     
  3. vincenty911

    vincenty911 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Would I exchange it via the Microsoft help desk?
     
  4. vincenty911

    vincenty911 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Just got my surface shipped via ups thank you.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

touchscreen one row doesnt work