SP3 wakes up by itself and takes photos.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by altont, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. altont

    altont New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This has happened twice now. I have my sp3 with the typecover closed and lying on the coffee table. Then it'll just start making the "camera shutter" noise and I open it up and sure enough, its taking pictures all by itself.
    Has this happened to anyone else?
    Not sure if its a Win8.1 problem or a sp3 problem.
     
  2. BillJ

    BillJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA United States
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It sound like aliens have taken over your device and are gathering intelligence for their attempt to take over the universe...

    Or, more likely, a glitch in 8.1. Sounds like a reset/reinstallation of Windows is in order
     
  3. mennogreg

    mennogreg Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Have you tried disabling the camera from operating from the lock screen in Settings?
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Perhaps a malware scan is in order...
    Only loosely related: some kids were photoed by school spying software... lawsuit ensued... school was smacked down... :)
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    no actually it's the Chinese! they hacking into everything nowadays!
     
  6. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Or a three letter agency.
    Or a three letter agency.
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ^^ yup true dat!
     
  8. raqball

    raqball Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    California
    My Device:
    SPro4
    My money is going to have to be on malware / hacked but Aliens, the Chinese, and the CIA are all viable options.. :p
     
  9. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Welcome aboard! Sounds like a virus, there are virus designed to take pictures and send it back to a server. That's how some of pictures end in wrong hand so I hope that you were not naked on front of your Sp3.
     
  10. BillJ

    BillJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA United States
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Just curious,

    Would a factory reset of Windows 8.1 result in clearing a device of malware? Or are there malware forms that would survive such a process, and continue to plague the operator?
     
  11. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes.
     
  12. altont

    altont New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't see how its a virus. I've not been anywhere "shady."
    Just scanned with defender...nothing.
    Speaking from my rear-end, I think its driver issue or a Win8 issue. Maybe?

    Thats not the only issue. Sometimes when I log in, it won't go to the desktop/start screen, it'll just show the background color on screen. Hitting the physical windows button does nothing. I have to hit the power button to turn off the screen and repeat the process of logging in. The most I had to do it consecutively to login successfully was twice.
    Come on Microsoft, you control the hardware and software now. I can't blame Dell or HP!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

microsft surface takes photos with camera bby itself

,
surface pro tacking pitcures by itself
,
surface pro wakes up in camera app