SP3 with i5 overheating

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by RapidA, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. RapidA

    RapidA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi!
    I received my SP3 (i5, 256GB) this week. After the first startup I had to install several Windows 8.1 updates (~1.2 GB). After starting the download and installation the fan goes up and the back is getting "very" warm. BUT shortly before updating is finished the SP3 shows me thermometer picture and shuts down! Is that normal? I didn't read anything about this issue on an i5 device. Just thought only i7 devices are affected.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Welcome aboard!
    Apparently is affecting both.
     
  3. InspectHerGadget

    InspectHerGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have an i7 and it fine but evidently the quality control on the SP3 leaves a lot to be desired.

    A HN salesman said that they sold 20 and 5 have been returned. Two were DOA and two had battery issues that resulted in current leakage and 'pins and needles' feelings in the hands, the fifth one, he didn't say.

    It isn't really good and none of those were even of the problem you are having.

    I'm fine, my one has no issues at all.
     
  4. DeltaXray

    DeltaXray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When it is overheating, load up task manager. What is using CPU?

    Some people have noticed a windows installer service chewing up a lot of CPU.

    For me it was Metro Internet Explorer. But it died down when I switched to desktop, so I had to snap desktop side by side and keep IE open to see the CPU usage.

    In the end I had to do a 'Refresh' for it to reinstall windows to resolve my overheating/high CPU issues. There was something really dodgy about the base image which came on my i5 unit and a refresh resolved pretty much all of them.
     
  5. DeltaXray

    DeltaXray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is this when it is charging or running just from battery? When I plug it in to charge and touch the back of the device I feel vibrations/pins and needles when I move my hand over the casing but I also got this on iPad and MacBook Pro. Does not happen on battery.

    I was told this is normal and is something to do with grounding.
     
  6. InspectHerGadget

    InspectHerGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It isn't normal. Mind is charging as I type and I can place my hand on the back without any tingling.
     
  7. RapidA

    RapidA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you just restore from the image that's on the SP3 or did you set it up from scratch?
     
  8. DeltaXray

    DeltaXray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just used the refresh option in the settings so used the built in recovery image.

    Defies logic really, you would have thought the image in the recovery partition would be the same as the one you boot when you first turn on the machine. But in my case, it was like a different machine after doing a refresh (and I did it on maybe the second day of ownership, no extra apps installed etc which could have caused a problem).

    Definitely worth a try as it flushed out some bugs for myself and other people on here too, in fact it was someone else recommendation on here that prompted me to do it, saying it cleared out bugs for them.
     
  9. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yesterday I had a problem with IE making my device warm, twice, but not sure why. Hopefully MS resolves it.
     
  10. RapidA

    RapidA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ah, great to hear that. I tried the same and already noticed afterwards that another issue I had before was gone (strange connection problem accessing my NAS).
     
  11. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    43 updates within a short time, Microsoft is crazy.

    use a big fan or air conditioner to blow while running windows update.
     
  12. InspectHerGadget

    InspectHerGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It doesn't need to be molly coddled. It is made to do work. If it overheats, it is faulty and should be returned.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
fix surface pro 3 overheating i5
,
i5 surface pro 3 overheating windows 10
,
ms sp3 overheating when using pop-up blocker
,
over heating issues sp3
,
sp3 i5
,
sp3 overheating
,
sp3 overheating install window 10
,
surface i5 overheating
,

surface pro 3 i5 overheating

,
surface pro 3 overheating i5