SP4 4vs8 gb ram confusion

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by hassandx, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. hassandx

    hassandx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    hello guys. i am planning to buy SP4 but confused as to which version to get. this will be my first ever surface tablet so need little help here. basically i am confused about the 4 vs 8gb ram scenario ( will be buying i5 cpu version).
    Now my activities on sp4 will consist strictly of browsing, youtube , watching 720/1080p movies , netflix/hulu and microsoft office. i WONT be doing any sort of rendering/editing or any other heavy duty stuff. so i was wondering will 4gigs be enough to fulfill my needs?

    yes i know 8gigs version is more future proof but i probably will get new surface after 2 years and am a little short on money so will 4 gigs version suffice ?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    4GB is fine for those use cases.
     
    hassandx likes this.
  3. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    As above. 4gb will be more than ample for that usage.
     
    hassandx likes this.
  4. compnovo

    compnovo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Washington State
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I have the SP3 4GB/128GB and it has always done the sort of tasks you're describing with power to spare. In fact, my Surface is doing so well I can't justify upgrading to the SP4, darn it. :D
    You'll be fine with 4GB of RAM.
     
    hughlle and hassandx like this.
  5. hassandx

    hassandx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    thanks guys.
     
  6. unclekyky

    unclekyky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm currently using 4.8GB of my 16GB with only Chrome, OneNote and Drawboard open. (Most of that is Chrome.) I knew that I would not want to use Edge or a lighter browser, so I opted for more RAM (and I do computations and other heavy stuff). My point is, you can definitely do what you want on 4GB of RAM, but you have to be conscious of using well behaved software.

    Side note: I use the Great Suspender to suspend tabs that I'm not actively using. I just unsuspended 12 of those tabs and I'm now at 5.7GB. I should really use a different browser...
     

Share This Page