SP4 - scanning on a network

Discussion in 'Surface - Peripherals' started by Hugovdb, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. Hugovdb

    Hugovdb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have a desktop with W10 and a SP4 also with W10. I can use the printers connected to my desktop on the SP4 a HP laser and an Epson Photo printer but not the Epson scanner V370.
    I installed the drivers from Epson but no way to detect the scanner on the SP4.
    Is this normal...
    I will appreciate advice
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    I read your post several times and every time I read it I get more confused. Is the scanner on a wired or wireless network?

    Assuming the scanner works on the desktop OK, are you trying to use the scanner direct or as a share from the desktop?

    What app are you using on the desktop. If it's the same one you use on your SP4 what happened when you try using it?

    Are you trying to scan from the computer or from the printer?

    Thread moved to peripherals.
     
  3. Hugovdb

    Hugovdb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I am on a wireless network
    I suppose that is as shared. But the printers under the same conditions are detected but the scanner on the surface pro not
    I installed the same app on the surface pro as on the desktop. On the surface I receive a message that it can detect the scanner.
    My printers are not with scanning posibilities so i am using it from the computer (the surface)
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Is this scanner USB? Network Scanners tend to be stand alone as the TWAIN Protocols need to be direct and not transferred from a Host.
     
  5. Hugovdb

    Hugovdb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    yes it´s connected via USB
    your comment is clear but in the setting menu - devices- they speek of printers and scanners..
    Thank you
     

Share This Page