SPro3 Win10 Require Sign-in if you've been away

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Forum' started by Darth Boredwitis, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. Darth Boredwitis

    Darth Boredwitis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi All,
    I upgraded from 8.1 to 10 on a surface pro 3 i5
    I take a lot of notes on my tablet. Under 8.1, I would .
    1. take some notes,
    2. hit the power button to turn off
    3. Hit the power button again
    4. take some more notes
    Now I have to log in every time, which is obviously annoying.
    Under Settings>Accounts>Sign-in options I have the Require sign-in set to 15 minutes.
    Under 8.1, this worked exactly like you would think. If I didn't hit the power button for 15 minutes, I would have to log in again. Now it doesn't matter what Require sign-in time is set to.
    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Garyjk

    Garyjk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    open control panel
    open power options
    click change plan settings
    click change advanced power settings
    set require password on wakeup to no
     
  3. Darth Boredwitis

    Darth Boredwitis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Wouldn't this cause it to never require a password?
    I want it to only require a password if inactive for 15 minutes or more.
     
  4. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    At the moment this is a bug even telling it not to require a password doesn't work. The only way to get rid of the required password is a editing the registry to take away the lock screen. That does not sound like something you want to do so for the moment you are stuck with it.
     
  5. Darth Boredwitis

    Darth Boredwitis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    nope, need to password protect it.
    Thank you so much, at least I won't bang my head against the wall trying to figure anything else out.
     
  6. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Love Windows 10 but it was definitely released too early and unfinished...
     
  7. dleuen

    dleuen Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Littleton Colorado, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have to agree that this lock behavior really cripples the SP3. I really hope it is a bug and not some grand brilliant design by Microsoft to enhance security. It should be pretty basic that I should be able to tell the system when I want it to be locked and when I don't. If it is a bug I'm really surprised that it isn't fixed already. As a software developer this doesn't sound like rocket science and should have never been broken and should have been easy to fix already. I'm concerned.
     
  8. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Been a bug for a while now, the had it on the last few TP builds if I remember right. I will keep saying it, "I love Windows 10 but it was released before it was ready." They did a rush job getting it out the doors, now they are basking in the glory of their unfinished product making promises to fix things sometime in October, or when ever they get around to it. We get what we paid for, and for most of that it was nothing...
    But still better than Windows 8.1, I am trying to find work arounds while I wait for MS to fix the more irritating issues.
     
  9. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Password signing in is very frustrating on Windows 10... it still asks me even when I've selected every option not to :( it rarely leaves my flat so there's absolutely no need for any passwords.
     
  10. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So why no do the registry hack and get rid of the lock screen and fix the problem?
     
  11. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    This is when waking up from sleep, i.e. the screen's completely off.
     
  12. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Don't know what the hack is or I would do it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

require sign-in windows 10 never

,

wakeup required a paeeword win10

,

win10 require signin policy settings