Start OneNote Desktop w/ pen click w/o new page

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Ph33zy, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Ph33zy

    Ph33zy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have setup OneNote Desktop to be my default app for the pen click. Is there a way to make so it opens up to your most recent page rather than open a new page? I think the metro version already does this.
     
  2. SaddleSC

    SaddleSC New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am looking forward to seeing the responses to this question, because I was wondering the same thing. Also, does anyone know if there is a way to choose the default pen size/color when you use the pen click? Mine always opens a new page with a super thin black pen. I would prefer a medium blue.

    Thanks
     
  3. Mikeyqp

    Mikeyqp Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    How did you set up one note desktop for the pen click?

    And is there any way to get that option wheel from the modern app back?
     
  4. Odyssey

    Odyssey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The OneNote team made a blog post about this here:

    Magic tricks with OneNote and Surface Pro 3 | Office Blogs

    Supposedly you have to update OneNote 2013 to be able to do this. Downloading the update now to see

    Edit: woops misread your initial question. Oddly enough they don't address this
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
  5. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Short answer: no. The only built-in option for customizing the pen is choosing between Metro OneNote or Office 2013 OneNote (if you have it installed).
    Long answer: yes. But as you probably guessed, you have to download additional software.
    Here is a link: EventGhost
    And a YouTube video showing what you can do:
    [video=youtube;Qn-pqWIQKpk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn-pqWIQKpk[/video]
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
    ScottyS and Ph33zy like this.
  6. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I don't have the option to default to the desktop version of OneNote on my SP3. Does anyone know how to enable that option? I've done all updates and still nothing, and by reading a comment on the blog listed here, it doesn't look like I'm the only one in this boat...
     
  7. Ph33zy

    Ph33zy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i had to uninstall the version I had and go to Microsoft OneNote | The digital note-taking app for your devices and download that version. Keep in mind that if you already have the 64-bit version of Office 2013 installed, then you must choose to download "other version" of One Note desktop (the site will download 32-Bit by default). The 32-Bit is free, but since you already have the 64-Bit Office installed, it will use your current license.
    Once you install the version from Microsoft OneNote | The digital note-taking app for your devices, go to file->account->office update. Finally, go to file->option->advanced->set as default.
     
  8. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Can I just install over the one I have or must I uninstall first?
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Always uninstall first.....
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have not found a way to switch it to OneNote desktop version. I would love to.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Are you running the Click2Run Version? If so do a manual update, then make the Modern UI version the default and then launch the desktop OneNote and when asks if you want to make that the default say yes and it should work...
     
  12. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't have an option for a manual update! I'm using Office 2013 Pro.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
isurface pro 3 pen onenote desktop
,
launch onenote 2010 with surfacepen
,
one desktop surface pen
,
open onenote desktop with pen
,

start onenote with pen

,
surface pen click onenote desktop
,
surface pen does not start onenote
,
surface pen onenote 2010
,
surface pro 3 pen launch onenote 2010
,
surface pro 3 pen setup with onenote 2013