Still getting 08/07/2014 update in WU?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by Ceepeebee, Jan 16, 2015.

  1. Ceepeebee

    Ceepeebee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi guys

    Exactly what it says on the tin. I'll install updates via Windows Update and all of a sudden, the "System Hardware Update - 08/07/2014" is showing as required. If I install all updates, including it it goes away, only to return at a later date.

    Anyone else get this?
     
  2. Sihaz

    Sihaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I just had a firmware update appear this morning. i rebooted the machine and it did indeed say at the black surface logo "please wait while we perform a system update". maybe it was actually a new firmware....
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That happens when typically when it detects a different driver version then what is considered stable or if the update was applied without the Type Cover on during updating.
     
  4. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    A new firmware of the Surface Pro 1, 2 and 3 was just released.

    As jnjroach explained,
    System Hardware Update IS NOT THE SAME as System Firmware Update.
     
  5. Ceepeebee

    Ceepeebee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    That's all well and good but I'm still getting an update from July 2014...surely this is incorrect?!?
     
  6. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Did you apply it, restart and check for update now?
     

Share This Page