What's new

Student i3 or i5?

myrimbaud

Hi guys

I already found a few threads about this, but most of them did not really answer my question. It is quite possible that I have just not looked thoroughly enough, in which case I would like to excuse myself.
I am a student from Switzerland, so please excuse any errors that you find in my text.
I study law and am a happy owner of the first generation of the Surface Pro. I really like the device, but it is quite heavy and the battery barely last through a whole day of university.
Since my main laptop is at the brink of dying, I’m thinking about getting the new Surface Pro 3. But now, I am not sure, which model to get. I’m on a student’s budget, so basically I would prefer to get the i3-model. The disk-space of approximately 36 GB should probably be fine for me, I listen to music via Spotify and do not have a lot of big files. (Mostly word documents, some pics, etc.) I have most of my documents already stored in several cloud-services.
But what about the speed of the i3-model? I will use my Surface mainly for OneNote, where I will write on .pdfs for university. Of course I will need Word and PowerPoint. Except for that I want to be able to surf the web, sometimes watch a movie or read an ebook. I would like to be able to use OneNote and still be able to simultaneously use the internet explorer or Spotify or something like that. I do not intend to game with it. So it will be mostly used for Microsoft Office programs, just the regular student stuff.
Will that be able with the i3?
I will not use the Surface Pro 3 for video editing or something similar. Maybe once a year I would like to do some photo-editing, but it is not something I really need.
In Switzerland all models will be released simultaneously.