Solved Stylus Can't Hover or Touch Bottom Area Where Taskbar Usually Is

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by OGF, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. OGF

    OGF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi, just got my SP3 today and everything is going smoothly, this isnt really THAT big of an issue but I notice that where the Taskbar is on default at the bottom(direction of where the keyboard goes.) There is something stoping my stylus from hovering over that area or even touching it. If I move the taskbar to the top of the screen it works fine, same with left and right. Its just the portion of that screen that I can't seem to get to, unless I use my finger.

    like I said nothing MAJOR but I'm just curious if someone else has this.
    and Yes i did install all the latest updates and firmware.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Have you tried to calibrate the display (Control Panel, Tablet PC Settings)?
     
  3. OGF

    OGF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yup, even in calibration mode it does it. If I put the device in portrait mode ( taskbar at the bottom where windows bottom is ) it does it on the left side of the screen where the keyboard goes. I dont know what it is. That little symbol that shows up where you hover over your screen with your pen, if you take that thingy and slowly hover it over the portion i am talking it about, it just flings it to the left or right like if there was some invisible wall.
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I can't reproduce it.
     
  5. OGF

    OGF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ok! I fixed the problem. I think I messed up with my initial calibration so I had to reset it. All good now, I might of accidentally pressed another area or something and screwed it up. thanks for trying to help!
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm glad that's fixed.
     
  7. gtext

    gtext Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Good news. Glad you got it sorted.
     
  8. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I haven't read much on pen tracking - can you compare it to SP2? SP2 tracked horribly around the edges.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cant get taskbar to show on surface pro 3

,

is it ok to put surface 3 pro stylus with magnet on bottom

,

suface cant access taskbar

,

surface 3 pro stylus hover

,

surface book cant touch area

,

taskbar not blocked for touch when hovering with active pen over screen