Stylus pen buttons not working correct in photoshop

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by milvo, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. milvo

    milvo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    Ive got a surface 3 i5 and so far its been great apart from one issue with the pen button mappings.

    Does anyone know of a way to remap the side buttons on the side of the pen?
    Ideally they would be middle-mouse and right-mouse.

    In photoshop and other graphics apps the pen is basically unusable with the default configuration. Also when using the apparent 'rightclick' the brush menu is not appearing.

    Drawing and sculpting apps were the main reason I bought a surface to begin with so losing the ability to use the pen with them makes this useless, and Ill probably have to return it

    Not happy at all about the switch to ntrig if this is the tradeoff :(

    help!
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi, welcome to the forum!

    Keep on the lookout, I've heard that Microsoft is supposed to be releasing a utility in the next couple months that will let you map the Pen buttons to different functions... ;)
     
  3. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Which menu's do you mean? Do you mean the left toolbar brushes where you click to get other options like patch, spot healing brush etc? I was finding this as well at first but I just noticed that if you just tap the option and hold the stylus on the icon it brings up the alternative options, you don't even need to press one of the buttons.

    I'm currently really enjoying using the surface pen in PS CC and LR, as it just feels so much more accurate to me to draw on the actual screen than my tablet... but my tablet at home is just a basic wacom bamboo - nothing special.
     
  4. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you go in to Control Panel (not PC Settings) you should be able to find a 'Pen' section which lets you map the buttons on the side.
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't think that option is present in the Sp3.
     
  6. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You're right, checked on mine and it has some options for adjusting the buttons (sensitivity etc.) but not actually re-mapping them :/
     
  7. milvo

    milvo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, am dying to have a middle mouse button! Lots of apps dont work without it
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
middle mouse button on surface 3 pen
,
opennote stlist button not working
,
penna surface stylus button
,
photoshop cc surface 3 pen buttons
,
rebind surface pen buttons in photoshop
,
right click with pen button not working surface pro 3
,
spot healing brush pen with surface pro 4
,

surface pen button not working

,
surfase reset butun
,
using the surface pro 3 stylus in photoshop