Success Windows 8.1 RTM Installed

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by TeknoBlast, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Alright, so I was able to install WIN8.1 on my desktop. Here's what I did and it was a suggestion from another poster from here.

    I created a file called ei.cfg with Notepad. In it is the following:

    [EditionID]
    Professional
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    1


    Just like above. That's all. I placed that file into the Sources folder of the install files. I kicked off the installation as normal and finally I was able to get the "keep apps, settings, and files" option. Once selected, you get to a point where it asks you for a Serial Key. If you don't have one and forgot to right it down, don't worry, you can skip that part. Continue as normal with the installation and within 30 minutes or so, you're done.

    Once you have your Serial Key, you'll need to go to the Computer properties to activate Windows.

    That's it and you've just upgraded to Windows 8.1 RTM without losing any data or applications.

    However, there's always a however. You'll noticed in desktop mode that there's a watermark that states "Windows 8.1 Pro SecureBoot isn't configured correctly Build 9600."

    I haven't figured out how to get rid of that. I messed with my settings but nothing.

    Since I got that watermark, I don't know if I'll get the same with my Surface, so I think I'll wait to upgrade when the Windows Store provides it.

    Hope this helps some of you.

    SecureBoot.JPG
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Looks like I'll have to live with the watermark. Since my GPU is not "Windows 8" compatible , I cant enable some of the Windows 8 BIOS features, which I think some can remove that watermark. Oh well, it's in the corner and I can live with it.
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Darth --

    Thanks; using your little cfg file, I uograded my shop computer to 8.1. I got the ISO from Technet. I, too, had a watermark, but just the name and build number. I activated it using the product ID#, then installed updates (a bunch). After the updates, the watermark disappeared.

    I may do my "main computer" in the living room while I watch the game, but want to do a full backup of the boot drive first. My "office computer" will have to wait, because it's 32-bit, and I have only downloaded the 64-bit install. Like you, I'm going to let my Pro wait for the "official" update.

    Regards,
    Russ
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
  4. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I upgraded the computer my wife uses and I didn't get a watermark on that desktop. So it's my GPU that's issue since it's not a "windows 8" logo GPU. It's a gaming GPU that cost me a pretty penny, so I'm not going to buy another GPU to just get rid of the watermark.
     
  5. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Darth --

    I have now upgraded three of my computers: my shop computer, an "extra" that I keep for my granddaughters to use when they visit, and one that I have set up for my Ladyfriend to use when she is here. I had to reinstall the Chinese language pack on that one after the upgrade. Each one initially had the watermark, but in each case it went away. Not sure, but I think it was Activation that caused it to disappear.

    The upgrade will not install on my "main computer" in the living room, because I have Windows Media Center on that system. I tried removing Media Center in the Remove Features in Control Panel, but it still will not install, suggesting instead that I do a fresh install. That system has a lot of stuff on it, and a fresh install is not something I am willing to do at this point. The 8.1 Upgrade is simply not worth that much work. I can only hope that when 8.1 comes as an "update" that it will install around that impediment.

    Still have my office computer to do, but need to download the 32-bit install for it. I do not intend to do my Pro until the install comes as an update. Ladyfriend is leaving for a 6-week China trip, so I will do hers when she returns.

    Regards,

    Russ
     
  6. Endorsay

    Endorsay New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    My Device:
    RT
    Nice tip about ei.cfg

    Separately, I upgraded from 8.1 Preview to 8.1 RTM. Unfortunately for me, it is not as good since awaking from sleep always leads to a crash and restart :(
    So I'm back to previous 8.0 partition for meantime.
     
  7. WillysJeepMan

    WillysJeepMan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    My Device:
    RT
    I have a dumb 8.1 RTM RT question...
    Under 8.0 the PHOTOS app would link to online accounts like Facebook and Flickr, but I saw no option for PHOTOS under 8.1. Did that feature disappear or is it located elsewhere?
     
  8. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    The Photo App is your root. Once you had pictures and folders, you'll see them in the app. Like for me, when I click on the Photo app, all I see is the iPod Photo Cache folder.
     
  9. WillysJeepMan

    WillysJeepMan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    My Device:
    RT
    Thanks, but what I'm looking for is for the Photo app to link to Facebook and Flickr like it does under 8.0. Once those accounts are linked into the Photo app, then the live tile for the Photo app displays photos from local storage, Facebook, and Flickr. There is no option in 8.1 (that I can see) to activate that behavior.
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That feature was removed, rumor is Facebook and Flickr wanted it removed....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
secureboot isn't configured correctly
,
windows 8.1 pro secureboot isn't configured correctly
,
windows 8.1 pro secureboot isn't configured correctly build 9600
,
windows 8.1 pro with media center secure boot isn't configured correctly
,
windows 8.1 pro with media center secureboot isn't configured correctly
,

windows 8.1 secure boot isn't configured correctly

,
windows 8.1 secure boot isn't configured correctly build 9600
,
windows 8.1 secureboot isn't configured correctly
,

windows 8.1 secureboot isn't configured correctly build 9600

,
windows 8.1 secureboot isn't configured correctly bulid 9600