Surface 3 2 gb vs 4 gb RAM

Discussion in 'Surface 3 (Atom)' started by CDG, Jul 17, 2015.

  1. CDG

    CDG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Hello guys need help.

    I got my 2/64 on Monday and am very happy with it. Now I am thinking maybe I should spend the extra $100 and get the 4/128, mostly for the RAM. I don't really need the extra storage.

    So any thought?

    Thanks much :)
     
  2. narse77

    narse77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It really depends on what you plan to do with the device. I choose the 4gb model as I use a USB dock at work and use a lot of programs at the same time. I can have a few windows open in Edge, the SCCM console, RSAT and CCMViewer open no problem. Average ram usage is 3gb.
     
    CDG likes this.
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you can afford it, I would. After the operating system takes its share, 2GB is not much...
     
  4. CDG

    CDG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Thanks very much, I tooled at the System Resource Monitor under various conditions and the usage varied from 53% - 68% with one peak at 84%. I read that as "nice to have" and not "must have", any thoughts?

    Thanks much, the extra $100 will be a stretch but makeable but I want to make sure that I absolutely cannot do without it.

    PS: Will the battery be affected significantly by going from a 2 to a 4?

    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not anything noticeable... :)
     
    CDG likes this.
  6. CDG

    CDG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Thanks, still undecided. :(
     
  7. narse77

    narse77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    To me 2gb simply is not enough. If you can stretch and spend the extra 100 for the 4gb model you should.
     
    CDG likes this.
  8. BOBEL

    BOBEL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you can afford it get it.
     
  9. Bryanmsi

    Bryanmsi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    What everyone else said. If you can afford it, you should do it. The OS will never truly run out of memory (well, it can, but its very hard to do). Instead, it will increasingly rely on virtual memory, swapping memory contents to the eMMC SSD. Which is way slower than the system RAM. And that will have a very negative effect on system performance as you load more programs. So what you will experience is that the OS will still show some free memory available, but everything will begin slowing down.

    Unlike storage, which you can expand with the micro-SD card slot, you will never be able to add system ram later.
     
  10. jrioux

    jrioux Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    California's Central Coast
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You should consider the business version, which has 4GB and Win Pro for $550. Google to find dealers.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  11. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
  12. CDG

    CDG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Thanks everyone, I exchanged mine for the 4/128 version this afternoon. :)

    As it turned out it was $40 off, so I had to only pay $60 and not $100.

    Thank you all for all your helpful suggestions.
     
    Bryanmsi likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
2gb ram versus 4gb ram microsoft surface 3
,
4 gb verses 2 gb surface 3
,
is 2 gb ram is enough for surface 3
,
microsoft surface 3 2 gb ram vs 4 gb ram
,
microsoft surface 3 2 vs 4 ram
,
surface 3 2 gb ram vs 4 gb ram
,
surface 3 2 gb vs 4 gb
,
surface 3 2 or 4 gb
,
surface 3 2gb 4gb
,

surface 3 2gb vs 4gb