Surface 3 Phantom Touches

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Christian Ekhart, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. Christian Ekhart

    Christian Ekhart New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My new Surface pro 3 (great device!!!) has phantom touches. The screen "magically" touches itself. Tha bad thing: I cannot work then. Touching myelf with full hand sometimes helps. But a few minutes later, new self-touches. Mostly in the upper right quarter of the screen. I googles and others have encountered the same problems. Some got their hardware changed. But no official information my Microsoft and no fixes (Firmware?).

    Does anyone have the same problem - and what is a cure?

    Tnx!
    Christian.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My recommendation is to do a refresh and see if you still have the problem. Do the refresh with the keyboard attached to the tablet at all time while the refresh and the Windows updates after the refresh are done.
     
  3. lcavada

    lcavada Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Do you have a screen protector on the SP3?

    I have had this happen when using screen protectors.
     
  4. Christian Ekhart

    Christian Ekhart New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No screen protector, even tested without type cover attached. Every time same location (opper right part of the screen). I cannot see why a new install would solve that?
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The refresh will tell us for sure if it's a software or a hardware issue. if it's a hardware issue you should call MS tech Support.
     
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Do not forget to have the keyboard the Whole time attached during the refreshing and updating process.
     
  7. BillsCarnage

    BillsCarnage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I was having some of these prior to the updates, but they seem to have fixed it. Try a refresh as mentioned.
     
  8. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm digging this thread up instead of creating a new one, but I am having similar issues, but ONLY with the type cover closed.

    When I have the type cover closed, the SP3 is occasionally registering touches at the top middle of the screen and it only stops when I open the cover. I normally work with a USB dock and dual monitors so the SP3 screen is not on or is being used.

    I keep BOTH the screen and the keyboard clean and have ensured that they are both spotless, but sometimes, it registers a touch. Any thoughts on how to remedy this?
     
  9. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I had this on a replacement unit. A reset didn't help, it would register phantom touches even through the setup process. I sent it back for another replacement.
     
  10. Alpha Sierra

    Alpha Sierra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am coming into this discussion very late as I did not have this problem. But I start having this problem since last night. It was driving me crazy. Anyway I googled the problem and a lot and finally found a solution.

    There is a firmware download from originally touch screen maker that provide touch screen for SPro3.
    http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-download.pl?mdl=SVF15N190X&upd_id=9338&os_group_id=27
    Once the you have downloaded you will find a called Calib4.exe, please run it and don't touch the screen while it is running, once it is done the problem disappears.
     
  11. Fazer Rider

    Fazer Rider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I had the "yellow band" problem and later on, off and on "ghost touches". The ghost touches appeared more frequent and every time on the same spot, as well during setup. The screen went inresponsive, the mousecursor moved to the ghost spot.

    Switching off touch (I could work with a mouse) "resolved" the problem. Sort of :).

    Called Microsoft and got advise to update drivers, calibrate the screen and do a full reset, switch back to windows 8.1 (I was on 10 prerelease). Knowing that would be in vain (because I was sure it was a hardware related problem) I skipped advise and called my reseller (Paradigit in Holland).

    Quit a familiar problem, they said, and definitely hardware related.

    I send in my machine and got a new? one back (with the same serial number!). I don't know for sure if the machine was brand new, or if they just replaced the screen. The back of the machine was now scratchless, everything looked new. Just the same serialnumber.

    My advice: replace the unit.
     
  12. geogprof

    geogprof New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Many thanks to Alpha Sierra. The touch panel calibration tool at Sony eSupport - SVF15N190X - Drivers & Software fixed the phantom touch problem for me. Too bad the Microsoft tech support person I chatted with did not know about this. One would hope that Microsoft tech support puts this fix in their data base before telling people to Restore Factor Settings (which would have wiped out some of the software I had added to my SP3).
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

phantom touches on surface pro 3

,

phantom touches surface pro 3

,
surface 3 ghost touch
,

surface 3 phantom touch

,
surface 3 phantom touches
,
surface 3 phantom touches fix
,
surface phantom touches
,
surface pro 3 ghost touches
,

surface pro 3 phantom touches

,
surface pro 3 phantom touches fix