Surface 3 Phantom Touches

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Christian Ekhart, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. hieunguyen

    hieunguyen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Please help me ?
     
  2. Mr. Lee

    Mr. Lee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Other
    There is already a workaround with this. A hotfix has been released for this issue. You can call the Surface Support to request for the hotfix to be sent via email. You may also try this one it may work: <link to .exe removed>


    You[/URL] need to prepare a USB thumb drive, download the Zip file using another PC. Format the USB thumb drive to FAT32 and extract the Zip file inside the USB thumb drive. Plug in the USB to your Surface 3 and Boot to USB (Press and hold Volume down, press and hold power button, release power button but keep on pressing the volume down button until you will see the screen calibration to run). Once done, you will see "PASS" and restart the device. It works like magic.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2016
  3. Stivy

    Stivy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I would appreciate it if you could provide me with the link to this hotfix! The last couple of days I have been looking for a fix without any success...
     
  4. Jay Marino

    Jay Marino Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Not saying that it isn't true, but I would be surprised if a software "hotfix" fixed the issue with the hardware. Maybe it's true, but if it is, it should be a sticky and every SP3 owner should know about it and get prepared for when it happens. Microsoft was replacing the whole SP3 with a new one when a "hotfix" would have corrected it? I was under the impression like my last SP3 that had the phantom touches that Microsoft took them back behind the toolshed and laid them out to pasture.
     
  5. Mialia1316

    Mialia1316 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Had the same issue with my sp3. Here's the fix which is available on a google search and youtube video

    In settings search for "Device manager"
    double click "Human interface Devices"
    right click "HID-complaint touch screen"
    then disable
    then enable
    finally reboot your device
    ***NOTE***
    when I rebooted it asked me for a password so I figured it was own logon PW so I entered it and found it to be invalid... and since I tried it too many times it wouldn't let me try again but I just simply turned my device back off by pressing the power button til it shut off. (I'm no tech savy) when I started it up again the problem was fixed and I was able to login easily and haven't had the phantom touch again it's been about 1 week now... if it starts again I'll just disable the touchscreen and use it as a laptop only and I'll repost as well.
     
  6. Jay Marino

    Jay Marino Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    yes, if you have phantom touches, the best way to work with your device without them is to disable the touchscreen using your post. however, disabling the touchscreen does eliminate of the main reasons why we use the surface, which is in a tablet and touchscreen mode. I'm sure many of use us the keyboard and such just fine, but if that's the case, spending $1500 on a touchscreenless machine isn't financially ethical. you can get much more for less. the phantom touches need to be adressed and resolved in one way or another. I'm pretty sure its a hardware issue and if you have them, you have them and if you dont, you dont' ?I don't think that a software fix other than diabling the touchscreen will work to resolve the isssue.
     
  7. roanmh

    roanmh New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I had a similar problems described by this thread, used the calibration tool, and it worked like a charm. A couple extra notes:
    - I am running windows 10 pro, which is not mentioned on the website. The tool did still work for me.
    - My touch screen issues presented in different ways as well, including certain ares of the screen not responding, phantom touches corresponding with touching the screen elsewhere, so I believe the issue may present in different way as well that are also covered by the tool.

    This being said, I have yet to test my device with the new calibration for very long.

    Many thanks to Alpha Sierra.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

phantom touches on surface pro 3

,

phantom touches surface pro 3

,
surface 3 ghost touch
,

surface 3 phantom touch

,
surface 3 phantom touches
,
surface 3 phantom touches fix
,
surface phantom touches
,
surface pro 3 ghost touches
,

surface pro 3 phantom touches

,
surface pro 3 phantom touches fix