Surface as second screen not working

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by bPatrik, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. bPatrik

    bPatrik New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hi,

    Iam trying to connect my PC to my Surface to use the SP as an extended screen but the PC cant see it.

    They are both on the same network. The PC is wired and according to the DXDIAG file it does support miracast and it already worked with a smart TV (however the TV is also wired). All updates are installed on both computers, both running Win10.

    Any idea?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    1,832
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I'm assuming this is using the Connect App...if that is true, the desktop would need a wireless adapter as it uses WiFi Direct to make the connection.
     
  3. bPatrik

    bPatrik New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Yes, i've tried it from the Action center>connect. I saw this video where a guy does what i wanted with his PC and SP and wanted to do tha same:
    ...so he "forgot" to tell us his PC is on wifi? It looks like.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    1,832
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I do the same with HTPC connected to my living room TV - the desktop will need a wireless card that supports WiFi Direct. What is the current WLAN Card in the desktop? It would minimally need to support Wireless "N" or better "AC".
     
  5. bPatrik

    bPatrik New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I currently don't have a WLAN card. I was hopeing its enough to be on the same network :/
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    1,832
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    bPatrik likes this.
  7. bPatrik

    bPatrik New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Okey, thanks for enlightening me. I'll get one than. :)
     

Share This Page