Surface Performance

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by MyLastGamble, Apr 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MyLastGamble

    MyLastGamble New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey everyone. I have a surface pro 3 with the i5, 128 GB. I've been using it a lot lately to practice for my Microsoft Certifications, I'm currently taking the sql server certs, and to practice I am going to need 6 virtual machines running Windows Server 2008 r2 and sql server 2012. I've been looking into building a better PC to handle this load, however I was curious if anyone has their surface under this type of load? I can match specs with specs however nothing beats word of mouth, actual use advice. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Not a chance.
    4 GB RAM, 7 OSs (6 server VMs) plus the base OS give 500 MB each.
    128 GB Disk gives maybe 16GB each.
     
  3. Hingle McKringleberry

    Hingle McKringleberry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Just a build a cheap box with lots of ram and HDD space and console to it with your SP3.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Another option that is available is using Azure for your VMs or even a service like IT Pro TV (www.itpro.tv ) which has a Sandbox Environment with labs for each class (Approx $600/yr).
     
  5. polbit

    polbit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    Other
    Why not just get HP Spectre x360 and be happy :) I finally gave up on the SP3, loving the x360.

    My SP2 is still with me though, and surprisingly hard to give up.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  6. fletch33

    fletch33 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Under a Rug
    My Device:
    SPro3
    how would a laptop with a slight processor bump that actually has no performance advantage and meaningless to his use bump in graphics with the same RAM and HDD help his situation?

    or better yet while are you trolling a SP3 forum when there is certainly a forum for your device?
     
  7. polbit

    polbit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    Other
    Ugh, maybe because x360 and SP3 are very much competing products, with Microsoft heavily involved with both, and both are hybrid devices? And SP3 throttles very badly, which is what made me return it and get x360, and x360 is MUCH better at sustained loads?? You know, the performance thing? The SUBJECT of the topic?

    Sorry if I offended your SP3 love. The only troll here is you, bud.
     
  8. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Locked. Not helpful. Headed south.
     
    leeshor likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface rt improve battery