Solved Surface Pro 1 Won't boot

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by SilentEagle, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    Hi guys, I have a problem with my surface Pro 1.

    It won't turn on, I've tried multiple troubleshooting steps, and they don't work. The charging cable light doesn't work, but the surface always charged. Now, when I tap the power button, and I press the start flag, I get haptic feedback, but nothing more. After a while, I have to press the power button again to get that feedback.

    Thanks,
    Tristan
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    try hard shut down... Hold the power button and volume rocker down... till it reboots

    or watch this video
     
  3. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    Unfortunately that doesn't work, I've tried the Power button for 30 seconds trick, also doesn't work, power button + volume up, also doesn't work. After trying your solution, the start button, doesn't even give any feedback anymore when I press the power button.
     
  4. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    that's good, now hold the power button till it turns on... it should turn on now...
     
  5. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    It works again, thank you very much! You saved my day :)

    EDIT: It turned on, but when I logged in, I saw my desktop for a split second, and then it turned off again :/

    EDIT 2: I turned it back on, then I saw the surface logo, and then it turned off again, in the exact same state as before.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2016
  6. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    well we almost got it... then the only thing I can suggest is do a factory restore, and that should fix it... if that doesn't fix it then something might be wrong with the onboard video and you're out of luck.... but try disconnecting the keyboard first and then perform a hard reset using the 2 button method up top
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    also did you install some sort of video drivers that weren't compatible with your surface pro?
     
  8. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    No I didn't, I mostly use it for school work, and then I tried to turn it on one day, and it didn't work. So it would be weird if it was broken all of a sudden.
     
  9. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    Couldn't it be, that the battery had such a low charge, and the charger doesn't charge at its normal rate, that I have to wait a day or so, to let it fully charge, and try again, because maybe the battery's just dead and the charger doesn't work correctly. Because the battery worked fine before, 2/3 hours on one charge.
     
  10. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    it shouldn't take more than 3-4 hrs to charge fully... not a full day. if that was the case then your battery would be finished, is the SP1 plugged in while doing this? if not then maybe it needs to charge...but if its plugged in then it shouldn't matter what the battery level is. Try again the 2 button step maybe something might stick and the screen will stay on this time, if not then I suggest a full wipe to factory settings...
     
  11. SilentEagle

    SilentEagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    But how can I restore it to factory settings, without being able to go into settings?
     
  12. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    here is a video that might help, if not look for others on YouTube ;)

     

Share This Page