What's new

Surface Pro 2 Dual/Triple external monitors - what works and what doesn't

konbaasiang

Hi guys,

I'm trying to make do with my Surface Pro 2 being my only computer when traveling. I'm a programmer, so this means a pretty decked out system with many peripherals and as much screen real estate as possible. This is all pretty new, and there's not a lot of information about what works together, so I've resorted to simply buying a whole bunch of stuff and trying it. This post is to share my experiences, hopefully it will be useful to someone.

Club 3D MST (multi-stream transport) DisplayPort hub

This basically works, but with a few problems:

With a 3-ft Mini Displayport (male) to Displayport (female) cable from Startech.com, it worked but not reliably. There were random horizontal flickering black lines across the image, and sometimes the entire display would blank (and the picture would only sometimes come back). Turns out that the cable was degrading the DisplayPort signal, because:

With a 6-in Mini Displayport (male) to Displayport (female) cable from Startech.com, the Club 3D hub works properly.

Still some issues though:

- When the SP2 puts the displays to sleep due to inactivity, and you wake it up again, the displays come back until you log back in. Two or three seconds after successfully logging back in, the displays go blank again. The computer is still seeing the external displays but they no longer work. At this point, I have to unpower the displayport hub and power it back on, and the displays then (usually) come back and work fine.

- When I unpower or unplug the displayport hub, the SP2 with the latest official SP2 display drivers (Summer 2013) sometimes bluescreens. With the latest Intel drivers (2014-01-29) it no longer bluescreens, but the wake-up issue remains. I suspect this is a driver issue, not likely a hardware issue.