Solved Surface Pro 3 taking forever to boot during restart

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Lobo, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi guys,

    I got a new SP3 recently and was quite amazed in the beginning.
    Unfortunately, soon I started to enjoy the typical Windows problems which drove me away from the platform a long while ago.

    All of a sudden, my device decided to take forever for a simple restart. What used to take mere seconds led me to using the Vol-up-Power-Btn-Combo after a while, because I thought it froze on me.

    Then I noticed, that it will actually start, but it takes about 4-5 minutes to arrive at the login screen.

    I did a restore once, which only led to a short period of relief.

    All Updates installed, no anti-virus other than MSE, no tune-up tools installed.
    Automatic Repair didn't help, neither Dism nor sfc showed any errors.

    I installed the Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit and ran the Performance Recorder, but the Analyzer didn't give me a clue either.

    Finally, the Event Viewer leaves me with a simple info: Windows is not functioning anymore. Of course, there isn't any useful follow-up hint and in the end, Windows boots just fine.

    Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi Lobo.

    If you've already done a restore procedure and returned it to factory state, and you're still having the issue, it is probably a hardware problem. In your case maybe the SSD isn't quite right.

    I'd exchange it.
     
    Lobo likes this.
  3. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ouch, that doesn't bode well.

    Maybe there's somebody around who could run my WPR logs through the analyzer and see if they can make any sense of it as a last resort?
     
  4. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You might download & run the free version of Malwarebytes. I have fixed a lot of slow systems running Malwarebytes. It can find a lot of crud that slips past a lot of antivirus software. Other than that & a factory refresh, I would take it back to the store & get it exchanged.
     
    Lobo likes this.
  5. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks a lot for the feedback guys! In the end, I had to do a factory refresh, doing reboots after all major installations. So far, so good. I hope it'll stay that way. :)
     
  6. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I thought this is what you said you did in your original post. You must have meant refresh?
     
  7. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Sorry Michael, y'all caught me on ma sloooow day. ;)

    Of course, I didn't do a simple refresh (yes, did it before but it wouldn't help), I rather put the whole thing out of its misery and did a complete wipe including reset to factory state.

    Still holding up btw – keep on pushing them thumbs, would ya? :D
     
  8. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Great, glad it worked out for ya and your SP3 and running trouble free... always sucks when our expensive toy don't work right... ;)
     
  9. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thank you, I agree whole-heartedly! :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
restart surface pro 3
,

restarting surface pro 3

,

surface pro 3 hangs on restart

,
surface pro 3 not restarting
,

surface pro 3 slow boot

,

surface pro 3 slow restart

,
surface pro 3 slow startup
,

surface pro 3 takes a long time to boot

,
surface pro 3 takes a long time to restart
,

surface pro 3 takes forever to restart