Surface Pro 3 through airport security

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Nolegrl, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. Nolegrl

    Nolegrl New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm taking my surface pro 3 on a flight for the first time later this week and I have a question regarding airport security.

    I have a Timbuk2 messenger bag that is tsa friendly via a separate back compartment that folds flat. The back compartment has a sleeve to hold your laptop, and when I had my old laptop, I just threw it in there. The surface is a bit more delicate, so I have a dedicated Neoprene sleeve for it.

    My question is: can I put the surface in its sleeve in the back compartment and have it be okay to go through the scanner?

    Or do I need to leave it naked in the back compartment for that to be acceptable?

    Other option is to take it out of my bag and let it go through the scanner in the sleeve, but that somewhat defeats the purpose of a tsa friendly bag.

    I also have various adaptors and such in the zippered compartment on the front of the sleeve. Do I need to remote those as well?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. BillJ

    BillJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA United States
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am no expert on TSA regulations, but I have had a flight bag with SPS, phone, multiple chargers and adapters go through the security screen on multiple occasions, and I have never been asked to open the bag for inspection. That is certainly no guarantee that they will not ask you to do so, but TSA seems to recognize SP3 as a "tablet" and not a "laptop".

    The other good thing about being a "tablet" is that you do not need to turn the SP3 off for takeoffs and landings, they way "laptop" owners must.
     
  3. Nolegrl

    Nolegrl New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Awesome! I'll just put it through in its sleeve as planned and see how it goes then. I usually fly allegiant and they (annoyingly) still make you put all devices away, but I think I'm on Delta on this flight so I'm glad I'll be able to have it out during takeoff and landing. Thanks!
     
  4. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The Surface Pro should go through in your bag any way you like as a tablet, but it really depends on the specific person inspecting your bag.
     
  5. Nolegrl

    Nolegrl New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's true. It also depends on whether they see it as a tablet or a laptop. I've never used a laptop sleeve inside a bag before so I wasn't sure how that would work. I'll have to see what happens when I get there.
     
  6. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If you read the text of the TSA rules, tablet/laptop is not specified, merely a size.
     
  7. jrioux

    jrioux Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    California's Central Coast
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just leave my RT and accessories in my small computer bag and have the whole thing scanned with no problems on United and US Air.
     
  8. talon90

    talon90 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've been using and travelling with the SP3 for about 7 months now. My experience has been that it is treated as a tablet at every security checkpoint that I've been through. It does not need to be removed from your bag or sleeve. I have a backpack that has the laptop compartment that can be unzipped and sent through folded out and I always have my SP3 in there (sometimes in a sleeve, sometimes not) and an iPad that I travel with along with my SP3 AC adapter. I always have the keyboard attached as well and have yet to be questioned about the unit nor have I had to undergo any additional screening as a result of the SP3.
     
    Nolegrl likes this.
  9. Nolegrl

    Nolegrl New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks! My flight was today and I had no issues with it in its sleeve in the zip off laptop compartment.
     
  10. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I left my SP3 in my bag (not a TSA open-style bag), just left it in there with all the other electronic junk. They made me take it out and run it through just like a laptop. The lady was nice about it, but said I should do that in the future as the SP3's are "kind of dense". And she actually called it a Surface Pro, so I was slightly impressed that she knew her devices a little.
     
  11. sean_scouser

    sean_scouser Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ye I travel from uk to Germany upto 6 times a year and if you have surface in a sleave in a bag just take it out the bag but leave it in its sleeve to go through machine
     
  12. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I've brought my SP3 on international flights (NA > Europe) and they consider it a tablet and I have just had to keep it in the sleeve I use to carry it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

airport security microsoft surface

,
airport security surface tablet computer
,
airport surface pro
,

do surfaces have to be taken out at airport

,
does microsoft surface have to go in separate bin for airport security
,

microsoft surface airport security

,
surface 3 and airport
,

surface pro airport security

,
surface pro airports
,
taking surface through airport