Surface Pro 3 web browsing speed

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by cdf3, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. cdf3

    cdf3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I plan on getting the Surface Pro 3. I sure hope the web browser speeds of the Pro 3 are faster than the Pro 2.
    Since they have the same processor, I doubtful.
    I have the Pro 2, and I'm a little disappointed in the speed time it takes to load web pages.
    I did a test between it and several computers I have. My 20012 MacBook Pro i5 model loaded faster every time.
    My Pro 2 also loaded pages slower than my ASUS X200CA 1.5 GHz Intel Celeron 1007U.
    The ASUS is a $249 device. I thought for sure my Pro 2 would trump it.
    All 3 devices were running the Chrome browser.
     
  2. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Dude I should think you had some underlining problem with your Surface... mine's the original and everything works as if it's instant. Did you ever try a factory restore?
     
  3. cdf3

    cdf3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yep. It works, but when I do a real world test against my other computers, the web browser isn't as fast. It does load programs faster than any computer I have. I've heard that the Pro 3 has a new wifi card. I'll do a test when I get it.
     
  4. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Did you get the firmware update that was promised today???
     
  5. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    I've had a 512GB SP2 for about 4 months now, and I agree -- screen redraws, windows opening and closing, etc, all contribute to an overall perception of sluggishness. File operations are zippy and compensate for a lot of it, but I was expecting something faster overall. I've attributed it to it being an i5 processor. It works fine, fast enough, fine once it gets where it's going.

    You'll be pleasantly surprised with the SP3 in that regard. I played around with a Best Buy display model yesterday, and it was much faster -- including web browsing. I assumed it was an i7 processor, but when I checked the system settings found it to be an i5. Looks like a great device!
     
  6. bamaster

    bamaster Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would look at the Power Plan. Try bumping it to High Performance. I would sense sluggishness when it was in Power Saver mode. Maybe the graphics rendering was throttled down? Or maybe the wifi strength is pegged down a notch. Not sure. But browsing is snappier in High Performance mode, for me.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014
  7. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Nah... everything is full speed ahead. I've been into advanced power plan settings, everything is at 100% with exception to screen brightness when running on battery. It is what it is -- not troubleshoot-able ;-)
     
  8. Ravynmagi

    Ravynmagi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a similar problem with a Surface Pro 1. Out of the box, web browsing with IE was really slow. It was slower than my Atom based Dell Venue 8 Pro, which made no sense. I sent a day or two troubleshooting the browser and Windows, but could find no reason for the slow down. Cleared caches, reinstalled Wireless drivers, tried a wired USB to ethernet adapter, a few other voodoo tips I Googled, nothing worked. So I did a factory reset and the problem was solved. Later I picked up a Surface 2 (RT) and it had the same issue, so I immediately did a factory reset and that fixed it as well.
     
  9. Seneleron

    Seneleron Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I forget if the settings are there in the wifi config on the SP3, but typically I have to change a few settings, enable WWM, change from 20Hz to "auto" (this allows transmission on both 20Hz and 40Hz)

    Seems I have to change the settings every time on just about every machine that rolls through the house. Also, signal strengh isn't quite as strong on the SP2 as I would've liked. I'm assuming it has to do with the antenna array and the small form factor. Not that it did TERRIBLE, but while the connection was active it did tend to dip under 150.
     
  10. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Glad that worked for you, I've factory-reset mine twice, no change. Thanks though ;-)
     
  11. pentaxis

    pentaxis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SP3 seems to FLY on the web no issue so far. Only 1 day in though!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

best browser for surface pro 3

,

best web browser for surface pro 3

,
surface 3 internet speed
,
surface 3 slow web browsing
,
surface 3 web browsing
,

surface pro 3 browser

,

surface pro 3 download speeds

,
surface pro 3 internet speed
,
surface pro 3 slow web browsing
,
surface pro 3 web browser