Surface Pro work with Macrium or Acronis ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Rushino, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. Rushino

    Rushino New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    Does anyone tryied to use Macrium or Acronis with the Surface PRO ? Would like to hear your experience if it worked or not.

    Thanks!
     
  2. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Both of their websites list Windows 8 support. Surface Pro runs Windows 8, there is nothing special or different about it so there is no reason it won't work.
     
  3. Rushino

    Rushino New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was asking because i am not sure about the drive. Is the drive an SSD ?
     
  4. Kiwibru

    Kiwibru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan Is. in WA state, USA
    Yes, and difficult to remove...see the iFixit tear down.
     
  5. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    It looks like these are just cloud based backup services, yes? I don't see why the type of drive matters in that case. Admittedly I don't know about either of these products beyond a quick look at their sites to confirm Windows 8 support. I can't imagine any backup service being drive discriminatory though.
     
  6. Rushino

    Rushino New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well if its really an SSD then there should be not problem i guess.

    I guess the best bet was the 128gb version. To be honest 64gb doesn't have much room.
     
  7. Cowboy

    Cowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Acronis is advertising Windows 8 support, but their recovery procedures are based on being able to enter the BIOS, turn off secure boot, and boot in legacy mode. You can turn off secure boot on the Surface pro, but I have found absolutely no way to enter the BIOS and change the boot parameters. In order to get any restore to work on a Surface Pro you would have to boot in UEFI mode and the Acronis recovery media does not support that; neither the Win PE based recovery disk nor the Linux based disk. So while I can currently back up my Surface Pro to an external USB drive, there is no way I can boot from that drive, or any drive/stick/cd/etc and perform a restore. Backup without restore.... not a solution.!!!
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
  9. graye

    graye Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I use Acronis on all my PCs... and I don't have any issues at all on my Surface Pro.

    I just installed it as usual (I typically don't use the "secure zone" feature of Acronis, so I didn't install that feature on the Surface either). I've done several full image backups over the network and to a USB-based flash drive.

    Everything works like it does on my other PCs.
     
  10. Cowboy

    Cowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to do a restore! You don't actually have to do it just try to set up for it. Any external device you use will have to connect through the USB port so you would have to boot Acronis through that and your device would have to support Uefi x64 booting. I have booted successfully with a Win PE 4.0 (Windows 8) USB stick but I can't run Acronis on that. Of course even for that I had to go into the "BIOS?" screen and disable secure boot, but there is no place that I know of that you can enable legacy boot and start up in 32 bit mode from a USB stick. That is what I do with all my other systems and Acronis works fine that way. I also tried booting another Uefi Windows system from an external GPT drive. It reads the drive and chokes. What we really need is for Acronis to support x64 Uefi on Win PE. They have been talking about it for years but have not done it.
     
  11. Nuspieds

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Using Acronis True Image 2013, I am able to successfully boot their Rescue Media via USB.
     
  12. mlknez

    mlknez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Please tell me how... I have been unable to do so.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acronis surface pro

,
acronis true image surface pro
,

macrium reflect surface pro

,
macrium reflect surface pro 3
,

macrium surface pro

,
microsoft surface pro macrium
,
surface pro 2 acronis
,
surface pro acronis
,
surface pro macrium
,
surface pro wont boot into acronis via usb