Surface RT and Adobe Flash Player

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by livefats, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. livefats

    livefats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Surface RT no longer allows me to view websites with Flash, including BBC iPlayer. Two weeks ago I did not have this problem. Going onto the Adobe Flash Player site, I cannot see the Flash images designed to test whether Flash is installed, but it will not let me install Flash - I get the error message that Windows 8 already has Flash enabled when I try to do so.

    Any help gratefully received.

    Thanks,

    Jane
     
  2. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm not sure if this will work but try resetting internet explorer to default settings. You do this from desktop ie, settings icon, internet settings then the advanced tab.
     
  3. livefats

    livefats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the idea, Omni. It hasn't worked, however. I wonder if BBC iPlayer is using a version of Flash that the Surface can't run? On the other hand, it doesn't explain why on the Adobe Flash Player page the swf display still shows as a grey box suggesting that Flash is not installed!
     
  4. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    Is this in METRO IE or Desktop IE?
     
  5. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I've just tried and BBC player works fine for me in both desktop and modern ie.

    If you go to desktop control panel and open 'System and Security' there is a Flash Player option. Open that and delete all the data. There are a couple of options to do so in the tabs. See if that works.
     
  6. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    sounds like a whitelist issue with the Modern UI IE.
     
  7. livefats

    livefats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apologies for the late reply - we've been away out of wi-fi for a couple of weeks.

    Thanks for your help. Machistmo: it was both IEs, unfortunately. Omni: thank you: tried the delete data, then another reset to default, and now all is good. Very helpful indeed - what a great resource this forum is! Thanks, guys.
     
  8. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Pleased you got it sorted :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adobe flash for surface rt
,

adobe flash player for surface rt

,
adobe flash player surface rt
,
adobe flash surface rt
,

flash player for surface rt

,
flash player surface rt
,
surface rt adobe flash
,
surface rt adobe flash player
,
surface rt flash
,

surface rt flash player