Surface RT Breaking Home Network

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by tonyg253, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. tonyg253

    tonyg253 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Hi all, I am having an issue with Surface RT and my home network.
    The problem is that the whole network sharing of my router is somehow disabled when the Surface is on the network, what I mean by that, is that all my devices can access the internet, but the network sharing, ie printing, media server etc stops working, and I cant see any other network devices from any pc other than the router.

    Sometimes this doesn't happen straight away, but happens all the time when my surface in on, I have tested the network with Surface off, and all good.

    I am having to restart my router to resolve the issue, and it only lasts a short time and the surface will throw it out again.

    I though it may have been a fault with my surface, so I sold my 32RT and bought a 64RT and got the same result

    However, my surface works fine at work, no issues at all.

    So I tried a new router at home and same issue

    So I recently purchased a Surface pro, and it works great, no issues.
    However, I really liked the light weight and battery life of the RT.

    I have done a lot of searching and I cant really see any similar issues
    Desperate for any help.
     
  2. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That sounds very strange. Other than a IP conflict I cant work out why a Surface would do that. Its just like any other device on a network so shouldn't cause any problems. Have you tried a static IP? Hopefully someone else might have an idea.
     
  3. tonyg253

    tonyg253 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I have tried static ip, still the same
    Very strange
     
  4. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
  5. tonyg253

    tonyg253 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    All my machines are running windows 7 Ultimate, no homegroup setup as such. I'm not worried about sharing or even access to other pc's from the surface, its just that it kills the router so that the other pc's cant print, and my media server cant be reached from the other machines. When router is rebooted, everything works great for about 20 minutes? its like a service in the router is shutting down due to some sort of conflict from the surface. Just strange that the surface seams to cause it.
     
  6. tonyg253

    tonyg253 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    As a temporary measure, i have created a guest wifi access point within my router, and connected the surface, so its not on my main wifi.
    working fine now, but obviously not part of the home network. Will try and isolate individual devices at some point and see if i can find whats causing the issue.
    Must be some sort of conflict that the router cant resolve.
     
  7. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Have you tried it on someone elses network? That would certainly explain if its the RT or your network at fault.
     
  8. tonyg253

    tonyg253 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    hi there, i have tried on several other networks and works fine, no issues.
    Seems to be an issue only at my house, i have tried 3 different routers, although they were all Telstra branded routers 1 x Thompson and 2 x technicolour
    and they issue is still present.
    only think i haven't tried is another router, not Telstra supplied.
     
  9. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That would be something to defiantly try. Routers are very cheap these days so that's a good thing.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
router stops working when my surface connects
,
surface 32rt
,
surface rt disables router ip addresses on all other devices
,
surface rt home network
,
surface rt network issues
,

surface rt network problems

,
surface rt no networks found
,
surface rt telstra router
,
surface rt wireless no ip address
,
technicolor router surface rt