1. The Pashmeister

    The Pashmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all.

    Just introducing myself. I've had my RT for about 6 months and it's ok.
    My main gripe is the struggle I'm having putting videos from DVD onto my micro SD card.
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
  3. The Pashmeister

    The Pashmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for that. The version of Handbrake I have has a load of alternatives down the right hand side for various tablets (Ipad, Samsung, etc). Could I select one of those?
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If it doesn't list the Surface RT pick something that has similar specs...
    16:9 1366 x 768 720P h.264 mp4 acc

    Thus the recommendations:
    Video (Video Format- .mp4)
    Video Codec- H.264
    Resolution- 1280*720
    Video Bitrate – 1500~2000kbps
    Frame Rate – 24fps

    Audio
    Audio Codec- AAC
    Sample Rate- 48khz
    Audio Bitrate- 128kbps
    Audio Channel- Stereo
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Depending on you source computer there are some other converters that might work better or easier.
    http://www.dvdtosurface.com/ mac and windows versions

    DVD CATALYST. Windows only.
    Good Luck.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm a big fan of DVD Catalyst. It has tons of presets and is very easy to use. Handbrake is great but can get pretty obtuse. But as was pointed out it requires Windows.
     
  7. The Pashmeister

    The Pashmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Whatever happened to DVD Catalyst. I have it installed on my desktop and I've been able to update them without any issues in the past. So recently, I tried to do an update, but fails. My install still works great, but cant do any updates. Dont remember when I bought it, but it was only 9.99 at the time, so not a big loss.
     
  9. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hello and welcome to the forum...
     
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That's a good question. It worked the last time I tried but now says it can't connect to the server. I'm going to try to contact Mitch, the owner, and see what's up. You can manually download it and use the download as an upgrade.
     
  11. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Also, I think the last time I updated, the title has been changed. I'm not at home to look, but I think it was changed to Video Catalyst or something close to that.
     
  12. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Mitch got back to me. He has had several changes in his hosting and it still isn't right. Plus he said 2 versions he released had a broken updater. Sending you a link.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

rt surface 2015