System corrupt after sfc scan

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Lynkdev, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've recently ran a sfc /scannow scan of my system to which it ends with some files are corrupt and stored to the cbs file.

    I've already tried using the USB restore stick i got from Microsoft. tried resetting twice now with same corruption. CBS log attached if someone can help me fix this problem please?
     

    Attached Files:

    • cbs.txt
      File size:
      4.4 MB
      Views:
      28
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Are you actually experiencing a problem or just chasing ghosts?
    There have been a couple problems with detections of issues by sfc which are either false positives or uncorrectable with no symptoms.

    Try issuing the following command at an admin command prompt
    DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth
    Or
    DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:C:\RepairSource\Windows /LimitAccess
    Where "/Source:C:\RepairSource\Windows" points to a local source copy otherwise the default location for Features on Demand is used.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/947821

    Repair a Windows Image
     
  3. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks,

    My system seems to be running a bit slow doing anything like browsing and or running scans with other programs. I usually do an sfc scan every couple months and if everything checks out i make a backup after.
    Is this command only going to work while in win 8.1 before upgrading to 10? its not finding the source files even after specifying the drive path. Says image is repairable though.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ADs are atrocious anymore you absolutely must run an ADBlocker. Over a year ago the AD industry admitted they went over the top and promised to self regulate. That appears to have been nothing more than lip service and things have gotten even worse.
     
  5. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3

    AD's?
     
  6. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So i went through the process again of resetting to windows 8.1, updated fully without doing the win 10 update and decided to run sfc /scannow.

    Checked out with no issues. Decided to run the win 10 update, make sure everything was updated once complete and ran sfc /scannow again and file system corrupt again...ugh.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Are you having issues with the SP3? Is the Windows 10 Upgrade causing crashes, lockups, etc.?
     
  8. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The thing that led me to doing an sfc scan in the first place was noticing random hangups when running certain programs along with chrome or IE.

    I usually will run this after doing my weekly maintenance plan with a backup if everything checks out.

    I spent pretty much the whole day working on this yesterday and wanted to see if it would show corrupt in 8.1 and it didn't. The install process for 10 wasn't interrupted at all and looked like it went smooth.



    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  9. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You must be using your system for some pretty serious business. If not, in my opinion you're being overly cautious & protective of your system and not allowing yourself to enjoy computing. Backing up important data is the most important thing anybody who creates data on a computer should do. I would love it if all my clients just did that one thing often. Every thing beyond lost data is pretty much fixable one way or another. As the old tune says, "be happy, don't worry".
     
  10. Lynkdev

    Lynkdev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No, just like making sure my system is running top notch...

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  11. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This may not be the same issue but this has been reported before with W10 and there are threads all over on it.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The hangs are most likely caused by Flash or Ads....
     

Share This Page