Solved The tablet that can replace your laptop - It is not a lie!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Robin Tillmann, Sep 12, 2014.

?

The tablet that can replace your laptop - Is it a lie?

  1. Yes! I can not use my Surface Pro 3 instead of my notebook or MacBook AIR

    22.8%
  2. No! I can replace my laptop/MacBook AIR with the Surface Pro 3

    77.2%
  1. Hello,

    I'm using my Surface Pro 3 since 2 weeks and every additional day I notice that at the moment the Surface could not replace my MacBook Air in fact of throttling down the CPU and a very bad update management.

    -CPU throttle issues
    -WLAN issues
    -Bluetooth issues

    Microsoft realy has to do something!

    My surface is the I5/4GB RAM edition.
     
  2. TunaSurface

    TunaSurface Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    The original Surface pro replaced my laptop.
     
    daniielrp and magdy samir like this.
  3. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm afraid the Surface Pro 3 has indeed replaced my laptop and has virtually made my desktop machine redundant. The only reason the desktop machine remains on my desk is because (1) I don't want to buy the dock and (2) I like the 2-monitor set up that I have, and (3) because I would like to have a back-up machine.
     
    dniezby likes this.
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I use my SP3 and my Lumia 1520 as my only devices.... it does everything I need, I have no issues with throttling and is the best mobile device I've used.
     
  5. ColEdinburgh

    ColEdinburgh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
  6. I would agree with you but not now, Microsoft has to do something with the software!

    Microsoft should give me the option to turn on the fan at full speed to get more power out of the SPro3, i don't need silence mode if i work.

    The page you have posted is not avalable.
    In many reviews you can see that the SPro3 throttles much more than the SPro2 and even more then the MacBook AIR!

    I do not only surf the web like most of the others, I work with my SPro3 which means more then 3 programms are opend.

    jnjroach what do you do with your SPro3?

    Please excuse my bad english.
     
  7. raqball

    raqball Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    California
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It replaced both my MacBook Pro retina and my Note Pro 12.2 tablet..

    I am thrilled with my SP3 purchase.
     
    qwst and olimjj like this.
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I'm an IT Consultant - I use it to create:
    • Proposal Decks
    • Technical Marketing Decks
    • Create Technical Documentation
    • Manage IT Infrastructure and Cloud Architecture,
    • I run large Data Pivots in Excel
    • Author HD Videos and E-Learning Assets
    • Take Notes in OneNote
    • Audio and Video Conferencing with Lync
    • Researching using PDFs, Word Docs

    I typically during the work day have 10-12 Tabs open on IE, 2-3 PowerPoint Decks, 2-3 Word Documents, OneNote, Outlook, Lync and Excel Open (these are desktop applications), in the MUI Tweetium and Drawboard PDF, all at once....I also use a Miracast Adapter for my extended display using a Microsoft Bluetooth Wedge Keyboard and Mouse....
     
    Sonnyboy likes this.
  9. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I didn't have a laptop but it did replace my desktop using the docking station. It's faster and quieter then my old space heater Dell desktop. What it hasn't replaced is my iPad Mini Retina. I would be missing to many great apps by giving it up.
     
  10. joga

    joga Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18

    My SP3 (i7 / 256G) with the Docking Station replaced my SP2 and my desktop. I use it for work and fun, from office to video encoding. It's a great device and i'm happy i bought it...
     
  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My i5 SP3 has replaced my ThinkPad. I'm very happy with it.
     
  12. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It's replaced my desktop. I like to use my SP3 dock for that. It has also given me the equivalent of a laptop in a tablet format. I have taken SD memory from my camera, installed it in my SP3 and done some video editing and posted files to YouTube while waiting for my plane in an airport.

    I have two users that I support where I work that are using SP3s as both a desktop and a laptop + iPad replacement. They both do real tasks using Microsoft Office.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3 yes or no poll