Thermometer icon on the i5?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mahdi75, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi,
    I just saw a thermometer icon appear on my SP3 i5/8/256.
    Actually, I noticed that the fan is running hard, while I'm doing almost nothing. then I checked task manager, and I saw that the system is taking ~15% of CPU, which is not too much for this hardware.
    Anyway, I rebooted the system and I saw the thermometer icon for the first time.
    After a minute, it started and booted normally.
    I'm just a bit worried. I saw there was a bug in some i7s, but seems that the exact thing happened to my i5 (notice that it appeared during boot, not when system is up and running)

    Btw, now seems that the temprature is normal.
     
  2. Geneo

    Geneo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
  3. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
  4. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,692
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Doesn't matter if anyone is or isn't, let MS know. as you rightly say, they've only so far addressed the i7 claiming it's due to a never been done before product (i7 in this form factor) which is definately not the same for a tried and tested i5
     
  5. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, once during a reboot after firmware update.
     
  6. mmoran27

    mmoran27 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I had this happen on mine several times. Installing updates mostly.
     
  7. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It seems that happens during boot if SP3 is too warm. I dunno if it happens during the regular usage.
     
  8. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Could you tell us how your i5 got hot?
     
  9. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not sure. I even don't know if it was really hot, or it was a bug or something; Although the Surface was hot to touch, just like when I'm doing something intensive with it.
    I didn't do anything intensive, just browsing the web with Chrome. Then I saw that "System" process is taking 15% of CPU, and overall CPU usage was below 30%.
    I tried rebooting, and I saw that thermometer icon instead of usual Surface logo.
     
  10. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Chrome. You don't have to say anything else.
     
  11. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yeah, I'm aware of Chrome, I know it generates more heat and reduces battery life.
    But causing the Surface to overheat and show thermometer icon? I don't think so.
    I use Chrome when I connect my surface to external monitor, basically when I'm doing desktop stuff.
    sometimes I have Visual Studio, a VM and many Chrome tabs open, and my Surface isn't that much hot.
    Clearly something else caused that.
     
  12. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Every site is different and some can cause overheat because the amount of ads flash on them. Silverlight media players also can cause overheat.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface showed thermoter on display
,
surface pro 2 thermometer
,
surface pro 3 termometer icon
,
surface pro 3 thermometer
,

surface pro 3 thermometer icon

,
surface pro thermometer icon
,
thermometer icon on surface pro 3
,
thermometer icon surface pro 3
,
thermometer symbol surface
,
what is thermometer logo in surface pro 3