This for a Surface Pro would be amazing

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by kozak79, Jan 20, 2015.

  1. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    fonzman78 likes this.
  2. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    my SP3 already replaced my desktop. (as did my SP2, and even my SP1)
     
    machined and mohcho like this.
  3. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Me too (work device anyways).
     
  4. young blade

    young blade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes but this device would boost the graphic performance.. Good for gaming, Video editing etc.. wish they would make a USB 3.0 version..
     
  5. Nys299

    Nys299 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    How does this connect to the SP3? Where does the PCI Express cable connect to?
     
  6. young blade

    young blade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't think it can.. maybe with a PCI express to USB 3.0 cable/adapter.. But looking at the price I don't want to be the one to try it out..
     
  7. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I need more than a gpu to replace my desktop.
     
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    USB 3.0 even 3.1 or Thunderbolt don't have the bandwidth to provide much more than mediocre performance. You'll only get a friction of the GPU performance unless you have the Full PCIe connection.

    The first thing that would happen is people will COMPLAIN they are only getting 40% of the performance from their expensive external GPU solution and how crappy it is. For MSI and others they can say bla bla its better than the integrated but if MS made something like this it would be a public relations disaster and all the Negative Nellies/Media Pundits would derided it unmercifully because its LESS than 100%.

    Exposing the PCIe bus directly presents too many risks, it wont happen. Maybe when USB Next+ comes out ... with 50-100mbps bandwidth. However by then NVIDIA will have perfected the 1024 core mobile GPU that's no bigger than the head od a pin, runs on 3mw of power using photonics and has a fiber optic interface. :)

    Patience.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
  10. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I dont get the point. If you are gonna drop that kind of coin just get a proper desktop with water cooling. Putting a Mercedes hood ornament on a Volkswagen doesn't make it a Mercedes.
     
    dstrauss, r0b123 and GreyFox7 like this.
  11. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You actually only need an SP3 and a Microsoft docking station to give you a great desktop replacement. It's a welcome growing trend here at LHM where I work. I feel I had something to do with the trend, having used my SP3 here at work to supplement my company computer. I'm constantly multitasking at my desk between 3 or 4 computers.
     
    dstrauss likes this.
  12. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    But you can't lug a desktop to work as well!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
attach graphics card to surface pro 3
,
external gpu for surface pro 3
,
external gpu surface pro
,
external graphics to surface
,
how to connect external gpu to surface pro 4
,
surface 3 pro external gpu epci
,
surface external graphics
,

surface pro 4 external gpu

,

surface pro external gpu

,

surface pro graphics amplifier