Throttling - Time to put it to bed

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by GreyFox7, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Throttling - Time to put it to bed. The iPad Air Throttles down to 77% of max on sustained test.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/7519/apple-ipad-mini-with-retina-display-reviewed/2

    thermals.png
    They ALL Throttle, nuff said.
     
    ctitanic and wynand32 like this.
  2. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Excellent, thanks. That's been my impression overall with every machine I've used, and indeed it makes some sense: after all, doesn't throttling exist for a reason? If machines weren't meant to throttle as part of overall thermal management strategies, then Intel and other processor manufacturers wouldn't build the capability into their chipsets. Instead, they'd probably just rate their chips for lower temps and have a safety cutoff to avoid catastrophic failure (e.g., when a machine turns on accidentally in a car with ambient temps of 120 deg. F or greater).

    It seems to me that throttling provides a good mix of maximum performance when really needed by increasing operating parameters, but avoiding extremely limited lifespans by providing a means to managed thermal performance. I know that I'd rather have an SP3 that's as thin and light as it is and that throttles when it needs to, but that's capable of bursts of higher performance when I really need it--as opposed to simply hard-limiting the performance or making a thicker and heavier machine.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  3. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've been looking into it a bit and I do think they all throttle, basically. It's just that SP2 is better with it.
     
    ctitanic and grumpy like this.
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Exactly, but there many things in the SP3 that makes it better than SP2 for some users.
     
  6. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes, but in terms of hardcore performance and throttling, SP2 wins. By quite a lot.

    I'm sure I will prefer SP3 over all, but this is one of the drawbacks.
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Drawback? That depends on the user and what the machine is used for. And even after all that is something that is not noticeable to new users. Only ex Pro 2 owners and no allot them are noticing this. Again, all depend on the use.
     
  8. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Come on man, whether you use the extra power or not, you can't say a decrease in hardcore performance is a good thing.

    It's something the SP2 undeniably has over SP3. Whether it matters is up to you, but it is a drawback.
     
  9. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm just saying that only few users care or are affected.
     
  10. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's fine, I'm just pointing it out as one of the drawbacks.
     
  11. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Frank I luv ur passion, LOL but liam is right, for others out there that are power users they need all the power they can get and the SP3 falls a little short from the heavy throttling... but that doesn't make the SP3 a bad device, not by a long shot!
     
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    heavy throttling is inaccurate. the i5 stabilized at 86% of max.

    I believe that tests conducted using firmware prior to 8/19 may be invalid.
     
    ctitanic likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to stop surface pro 3 throttling
,
how to stop surface pro throttling
,
iphone that put on bed
,
microsoft surface pro 3 test for throttling
,

stop surface pro 3 from throttling wifi

,
surface 3 throttling
,
surface pro 3 throttling firmwate
,

windows surface pro 3 throttling