Time is wrong .. time zone is correct

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Arizona Willie, Apr 6, 2016.

  1. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    We noticed the other day that the time on our Surface Pro 1 is off by an hour.
    The time zone is correct Arizona Daylight savings time not used.

    This has only come about fairly recently or we didn't notice it before.

    How can this happen? The time gets set automagically by the internet.

    We would like to fix it but don't know how.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It probably is an Internet thing. Change the time offset by 1 hour.
     
  3. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    ========
    But why doesn't it do that to my desktop or Windows Phone which are all operating on the same Wi-Fi network and ISP connection?

    Nor does it do it to an Android tablet which is also connected to the same network.

    Only on the Surface Pro.
     
  4. Metalman

    Metalman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    That happened on my Surface Pro also. It also don't change on any of my other computers.
     
  5. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    =======
    Must be something about the firmware on the SP since it doesn't happen on our other computers.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    They may be using different time servers.
     
  7. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Hi, @Arizona Willie ,

    This is definitely a bug, and has been reported since Windows 7 in 2011. The workaround is usually to disable automatic detection, wait one minute, then enable it again. This may work. Otherwise, you will have to manage your exception to the Daylight Savings Time madness yourself.
     
  8. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    It mysteriously fixed itself. She took it to a different area of Phoenix ( Sun City ) when she went to take care of her mother and she called this morning and said it had fixed itself!!

    Still using the same ISP ( Cox ) but on different circuits and probably a different server since she is 70 miles away.

    Will be interesting to see if it goes wonky when she comes home Saturday.
     

Share This Page