Tip for extended monitor users...

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by mitchellvii, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    One of the "bugs" of Windows 8 is that the user is not allowed to set different zoom levels on extended monitors. What this means to us is that if we have our SP set at 1920 x 1080 and 150% zoom, then our external monitor will also be 150% zoom. With a 23 inch monitor that means text will be so big it's almost funny.

    One workaround for this is to set your SP at 1600 x 900 and 125% zoom. This is going to give you pretty much the exact same real estate on your SP as 1920 x 1080 x 150 but more reasonably sized fonts on your extended monitor since the zoom is only 125%. Additionally this will also give you an extra row of tiles in Modern UI (don't ask me why, it just does).

    So does image quality suffer on the SP at 1600 x 900? YMMV but I personally cannot tell a difference.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love the 4th row option i just switched it but the real test will be on monday when i hook up my monitors. thx for the tip.
     
  3. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have a 21.5 inch 1920 x 1080 monitor and honestly I prefer it at 125% to 100%. Things get kind of small and a little jaggy at 100%. 125% is the sweet spot for me.

    It's funny that although the SP isn't "optimized" for 1600 x 900 it does seem to do a number of things better there (like the extra row of tiles).
     
  4. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    Another oversight that MS claims will be addressed in BLUE. Time can only tell. Meanwhile, my System Aggregator Firmware issues persist. I have 6 rows on my Metro on the external screen ?

    dell win8 rows 2.01.jpg



    Is this what you are talking about? Sorry it is early and on the first cup...
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2013
  5. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Dunno. Just seems that 1600 x 900 on the SP gives an extra row. Don't know why.
     
  6. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    You mean on the Surface Pro display? Oh right gotcha. I thought you meant your external monitors had 3 rows at native resolution. I get you now.
     
  7. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm running my SP at 1920x1080 at 125%. I'm thinking about getting a 27" monitor to run off my SP when at home at 2560 x 1440 resolution. Would that require changing resolution and % zoom every time I connect, or are settings for a 2nd display remembered?
     
  8. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have exactly that setup, 125% text scaling and 27" monitor @ 2560x1440. works great. no need to toggle
     
  9. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am confused about which inputs allow 2560x1440. I know HDMI and VGA have a max to 1920x1080. So do I need a monitor with Display port or DVI-D or DVI-D with HDCP Input? And are there miniDisplay port-to-Display port and miniDisplay port-to-DVD-D adapters?
     
  10. vinumsv

    vinumsv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  11. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That Monoprice Mini Display Port | Thunderbolt® to HDMI®, DVI & Display Port Adapter looks good, but I'm still confused.
    Is mini DisplayPort=Thunderbolt? VGA and HDMI can only go 1920x1080; the monitor I'm looking at (Dell U2713HM) has VGA, DVI-D with HDCP Input and HDMI. One of the user reviews say it only does 2560x1440 through DisplayPort or DVI-D, but the specs doesn't say it has Display Port input. I don't want to buy a monitor and then find out there's no way to connect it to get 2560x1440.
     
  12. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Thunderbolt is DisplayPort plus USB 3 data. So DisplayPort is a video subset of Thunderbolt. To get the highest resolution you need to find a monitor that supports DisplayPort input or at least DVI. DisplayPort is the better standard though so try for a monitor with that and you won't have any problems with resolution.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
extended display issues surface pro 2
,
extending surface pro to second monitor
,
surface 2 extend display
,
surface extended display
,

surface pro 2 extend display

,
surface pro 2 resize second monitor
,
surface pro exrended display
,
surface pro extend display text small
,
surface pro extended monitor resolution
,
surface pro second monitor resolution