[Tip] Taking A Screenshot

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface FAQ & Guides' started by gglazer, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. gglazer

    gglazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see this one listed yet. Very handy and super easy to use.

    Hold down the "windows" button on the bottom middle of your Surface and then press down the volume down button. The screen should dim and a screenshot will be saved into a screenshot folder in your pictures library. Really cool and easy to use.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2012
    3 people like this.
  2. kryten22uk

    kryten22uk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Sounds more hassle than using the standard hand-swipe. Is this method for when you have been eating toast and have jam all over you hand?
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Hubster

    Hubster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found that this doesn't work when you're multitasking, only when running one app at a time. Does anyone know how to take screenshots when two apps are running side by side?
     
  4. gglazer

    gglazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the "standard hand-swipe" kryten22uk? I haven't heard about that. I haven't tried to take a screenshot of two apps running at once Hubster. I wouldn't think that would be a big deal to implement. I wonder why they didn't.
     
  5. TheConstruct

    TheConstruct Guest

    Yes, what is this "hand-swipe" you speak of?
     
  6. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    It sure does. There are plenty of screenshots here with more than one app running.
     
  7. Eilene

    Eilene New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Bend OR
    My Device:
    RT
    How do you do a screenshot with a handswipe?
     
  8. oion

    oion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    S2
    There is no "standard hand-swipe" screenshot technique for the Surface.

    What kryten22uk may have been referring to is the Windows RT/8 "snipping tool," which is available only in desktop mode. This is useful to capture specific screen areas on the desktop, like maybe a specific option dialog, but doesn't behave like a true screencapture method that's edge-to-edge. And it doesn't work with the Start Screen.

    There is no way to screen-capture the lock screen either, unfortunately.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Eilene

    Eilene New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Bend OR
    My Device:
    RT
    Thank you! E
     
  10. Endorsay

    Endorsay New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    My Device:
    RT
    Thanks for the Windows 8.0 tip.

    In 8.1 (preview) they have also added screenshot ability using the Share Charm (windows+H on keyboard)
     
  11. JakeyFlower

    JakeyFlower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks I was wondering if you could screen shot :D but like the print screen button on windows pcs
     
  12. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Snipping tool if you don't actually need the entire screen.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

screenshot feature not working on surface rt

,
screenshot not working windows surface 2
,
screenshot surface not working
,
screenshot surface rt doesn't work
,
surface pro 3 taking screenshot
,
surface rt not taking screenshots
,
surface rt screenshot not workig
,
take screenshot surface not working
,
taking a screenshot on a surface
,
taking a screenshot with surface