Solved Toolbar Randomly Stopped Working... Wth?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by ChrisPanzer, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. ChrisPanzer

    ChrisPanzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Last night as I was going to sleep I attempted to click on my toolbar to close out some apps. To my disgruntlement, I was unable to click on the toolbar!

    I could click everywhere else, right-click, etc. Everywhere else on the screen had full functionality, except the bottom toolbar.

    So, I restarted it and chalked it up to a freak thing. No big deal, eh?

    This morning I get to my office, plop her in her Dock Station, and to my 2nd disgruntlement, the toolbar is alas not working, and exhibiting same symptoms as last night.

    Anyone run into this??
     
    francesco likes this.
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    What was the last change made to the system? These types of lock-ups tend to be caused by conflicts (new software, updates, etc.) or corrupted files.
     
    ChrisPanzer likes this.
  3. ChrisPanzer

    ChrisPanzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I un-installed Hot Virtual Keyboard.

    Damn, what do I do?? Get one of those uninstaller proggies??
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Now you've got a hot, virtual, mess :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    From an elevated CMD Prompt run sfc /scannow

    If there is corruption it will attempt to fix or repair.
     
  6. ChrisPanzer

    ChrisPanzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks, will try.
     
  7. Millit85

    Millit85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try to install it, and uninstall it again.
    Windows 8.1?
     
    ChrisPanzer likes this.
  8. ChrisPanzer

    ChrisPanzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yeah thanks, I got it all sorted out. Turns out HVK was indeed the culprit.
     
  9. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Marked solved.
     

Share This Page