Touch controls on secondary monitor w/SP3 and W10

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Peter Shaida, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. Peter Shaida

    Peter Shaida New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to figure out how to get the touch on my non-primary second external touch monitor to control ITSELF and not the primary monitor? (I have done a pretty extensive search across both the SP3 and W10 forums and have gotten close but not found this issue discussed.)

    I've got my SP3 i5 running w10 in a dock w docks's minidsplay connected to the hdmi on monitor 2 and usb from dock to monitor 2. SP3's minidsplay connected to hdmi on monitor 3 and usb from dock to monitor 3. I have them visually sequenced 2,1,3 and 3 is my 'primary' monitor.

    Displays work. Touch works on each. But right now the touch on m2 actually controls m3 and not itself. I get that this is how one might want to configure a touch monitor in some cases so it's not a bug but...I'd like to get the touch on m2 to control itself? Any ideas?

    (the monitors are acer t232hl)
     
  2. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Have you tried this on 8.1?
     
  3. Peter Shaida

    Peter Shaida New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I haven't but that was my next step if somebody here didn't just know the answer...
     
  4. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm not certain that I understand your issue entirely, but I will say, that on 8.1, I am having an issue where Windows mis-identifies my monitor order. I can place the monitors in the physical order I want, and everything works, except when I ask it to identify which monitor is which; at that point it's numbers are always wrong.
     
  5. Peter Shaida

    Peter Shaida New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Interesting. That part works fine for me! I think my issue is something like: each of the two monitors is really functioning as two devices-- a display and a touch input. In Windows most touch inputs are designed to provide input related to the screen (aka primary screen). This makes sense if the input device is a mouse or touchpad or wacom tablet. So the input device for my second (or third if you count the screen of the SP3 itself) is 'assumed' by Windows to be used to control the 'primary' screen (which is set to the OTHER external monitor)--so if I touch the screen on the left (non-primary) it acts like I've touched the screen on the right (the 'primary' screen). Kind of trippy! and again, it makes sense but somewhere there must be a setting where one can over-ride the assumption that the touch is supposed to control the primary screen and tell it to control it's own screen?
     
  6. BChat

    BChat Guest

    @zhenya - did you ever try: right click on desk top/screen resolution/ swap monitor positions by clicking on one and dragging over it to the other side?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

2 monitor touch w10

,

sp3 w10 jun 2015