Turn On Brand New Surface, Have 16.9GB Available Space

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by borka105, Jan 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. borka105

    borka105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installed mandatory updates and now have 13.8gb available. I have installed 0 apps myself...

    I understand that 32gb turns into 24.9gb with Windows and Office. But to go from 24.9gb to 16.9gb to 13.8gb after mandatory updates on desktop and metro makes me think that I will soon be below 10gb based on mandatory MSFT updates.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I suggest to uninstall any unwanted apps.
     
  3. ZachBui

    ZachBui Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    do you have windows.old in your C: drive?
    you can also run disk cleaner as well and choose clean up system files too

    that should free up 3gb I think, and then if you do the recovery trick you can get another 3gb free.

    Right now, on my 32gb, I have 19.6gb free, and all of my installed apps are on my SD card. Depending on browsed sites/windows updates, that's usually another 1gb if you don't clean it out right away.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  4. borka105

    borka105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What unwanted apps? I have installed 0 apps.. the only apps I have are the preinstalled Bing ones.

    I looked at disk clean-up.. the largest file recommendation they are making is 49mb.

    I have literally just turned on the Surface and installed the updates that's it...It's a brand new Surface I got today after returning my original one for hardware issues. This is the first time I actually looked at the desktop to see how much HD I have at the onset.

    I will call MS Support and see what they say.
     
  5. ZachBui

    ZachBui Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would look if you have Windows.old in the root of your C:\ drive
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Unfortunately that seems to be the standard and a lot of people are not happy about it but it has been discussed before.
     
  7. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Use Disk Cleanup, and make sure the Previous Windows installation(s) is checked.

    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. borka105

    borka105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for helping guys, but I don't see "windows.old". Why wouldn't I have it?
     
  9. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    It only appears if you refreshed your Surface.
     
  10. borka105

    borka105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    What do you mean "Refresh your surface"? I have downloaded all the updates.. how would I refresh?

    Thanks again...
     
  11. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Go to PC Settings -> General and scroll up.
     
  12. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for reminding me, I refreshed recently.

    Borka, you can transfer the recovery files to a USB drive and you'll recover about 4GB of space, however I would keep it as an option if you start to get low on space.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cant turn on brand new mircorsoft surface
,

disk cleanup surface rt

,
how to turn on a brand new surface
,
how to turn on a brand new surface rt
,
how to turn on brand new a windows surface
,
how to turn on brand new surface
,
run disk cleanup on surface rt
,
surface 2 only 10gb available