Unable to ping Surface RT after a while.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by gusto, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. gusto

    gusto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a homegroup set up with a Windows 8 desktop and my Surface RT. I'm intermittently unable to ping the Surface either by name or by IP from the desktop. I seem to consistently run into this problem. After restarting the Surface, I can ping it successfully, but after some amount of time (not sure exactly how much but probably on the order of hours rather than minutes) can no longer do so without restarting again. I fail to do so both by name and by IP. I can ping the desktop from the Surface.

    Anyone else seen anything like this or know what might be going on?
     
  2. pallentx

    pallentx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could it be going into a powersave mode? The Surface isn't really intended to be an always on device like a server or desktop. Although it has "connected standby", I'm guessing this is not a constant live connection - perhaps more of an intermittent wake up and ping for updates kind of thing. If its up and running and you're losing connection, then I don't know. I haven't seen anything like that.
     
  3. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    It is possible your router is having trouble assigning addresses. Maybe try a router reset?
     
  4. Inadorel

    Inadorel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland
    My mother had this problem with her RT. It is related to powersaving - but it is in the network card properties. Go to Control Panel, Network, Network Connections and then properties of the connection. Go to Configure the Adaptor and then choose Advanced. Under power management - take the tick off 'Allow the computer to turn off the device to save power'. This fixed her problem - yours sounds the same to me.
     
  5. gusto

    gusto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    My issues with connecting to the surface are not because it's currently in powersave mode. I'm unable to ping it even while actively using the device (and while pinging from the device to my desktop, for example).

    It may be the case that the device is entering a powersave mode, disabling the network adapter, and then failing to re-enable it properly once it exits powersave. I'll try modifying the setting you suggested Inadorel. However, if that does end up being the issue, it seems strange as the adapter was clearly re-enabled to at least some extent, given I can still make outgoing connections from the surface.

    For similar reasons, I wouldn't think it's a problem with the router issuing IPs, as the surface still shows itself as having the same IP and the client list on the router still includes that machine.

    I'll report back tomorrow on whether I run into this again after changing the adapter setting. Thanks.
     
  6. gusto

    gusto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I disabled 'Allow the computer to turn off the device to save power' on the wireless adapter. After doing so, my surface would crash any time it hit powersave mode. I reenabled the setting, and I no longer get crashes (but still lose my ability to ping eventually).
     
  7. pallentx

    pallentx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    crazy. I have no idea on that. I think I would call support and see if they have any help. Sounds like a hardware thing, but I might be wrong. Are you up on all the latest firmware updates?
     
  8. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I've just tried pinging my RT but it just times out. Not sure why but my surface works perfectly and this is not a issue for me. Might help you though I hope.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i ping my surface tablet
,
can not ping surface 3 tablet
,
can not ping to surface rt
,
can you ping from a surface rt
,
cannot ping my surface rt
,

cannot ping surface pro 3

,
connected+standby ping
,
enable icmp surfacert
,

surface rt ping

,
unable to ping surface tablet