Undervolting Snakeoil Works

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by megatronium, Aug 26, 2014.

  1. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I ran this experiment using my SP3 by accident. I was using Handbrake to convert a .mkv file to .mp4 which uses 100% of the CPU. I was admiring how my SP3 was outperforming my i5 desktop workstation. The SP3 was encoding 10fps better than the desktop. Then the throttling kicked in which started dropping the fps and CPU frequency. I realized I didn't have XTU running. I opened XTU and loaded a profile that offsets the voltage by -52.something. Immediately the fps and processor frequency increased. 17 minutes in and it's still outperforming the desktop. Not that I really care about throttling enough to run this test - I'm just making my mom a dvd and wanted to speed up the process. :) It worked. YMMV.
     
    ctitanic and GreyFox7 like this.
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Could you post a screenshot of XTU configuration?
     
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Better than that, I think that XTU can export profiles. May be your can upload the profile here or in OneDrive for anyone to use it.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think I tried -20mv or -30mv and my system rebooted unexpectedly about two hours later. YMMV
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    BTW, you can pair a profile to an App.

    App-Profile Pairing
    Feature Description
    App-Profile Pairing lets you tune your system automatically based on which application you are using. This is accomplished by pairing any application on your system to a profile you define in the Intel ® Extreme Tuning Utility (Intel ® XTU). When that application is running, Intel ® XTU will automatically apply that profile to that application using the App-Profile Pairing feature.
     
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Excuse me but I'm not familiar with XTU. Is -55 higher than your setting?
     
  7. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Picture attached. Won't let me upload profile.
     

    Attached Files:

    • xtu.jpg
      xtu.jpg
      File size:
      214.5 KB
      Views:
      189
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, its a greater negative value.
    Undervolting is decreasing the voltage to the CPU or other component depending on the setting used. so -55 millivolts is reducing the voltage by that amount. each individual processor will have a range within which it works and which it doesn't that varies.

    I suspect when the system was idle it may have cut back on its own causing instability when combined with my setting. I'm not sure but it seems people may only enable this during a particular activity and not just leave it on all the time. To me, it's not worth it. .
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Why don't you show the screen where you set it. I've uninstalled it or I would :)
     
  10. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's why I was mentioning to share it using Onedrive.
     
  11. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Careful sharing. Every piece of silicon is slightly different. I can UV my Pro 2 by -65mv, the one at work, can easily go -85mv with no crashing but mine won't. UV the graphics is where I seem to get the biggest save. Find and test your number.
    Do I NEED to do it on my Pro 2? no, but some of the work I do is cpu intensive and I can easily get it to throttle so every little bit helps.
     
  12. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have used a -55 profile without any issue. But I don't have any use for it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
application profiles xtu
,
apply profile in xtu
,
surface 2 undervolting
,
surface pro 3 i7 undervolting
,
surface pro 3 undervolt result
,
surface pro 3 undervolting
,

undervolt surface pro 3

,
undervolt surface pro3 using xtu
,
undervolting surface pro 1
,
xtu sp3