Updated Firmware and Drivers - August 30, 2016

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by jnjroach, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  2. Gtfeckner

    Gtfeckner New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    CPU throttling is back to normal after it was broken by Anniversary Update.
    My unit is already changing CPU speed dynamically and going back to 900 MHz when computing load is low, as it used to do. It was fixed at 1.5 GHz after AU.
    DidnĀ“t have time to check battery life yet. Will see in the next days.
     
    jnjroach likes this.
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    So far so good....the weirdness of the last Build was gone after the new drivers/firmware and now the new build it is even better....
     
    R.A.F likes this.
  4. Philtastic

    Philtastic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Glad that they finally fixed the CPU clock speed issue after almost a month with it.
     
    R.A.F likes this.
  5. Becosemsaida

    Becosemsaida New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Is it just my impression or is the battery lasting only 2-3 hours now...... Throttle AND freeze problem solved for now.
     
  6. Votality

    Votality Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I might be pessimistic but I'm sure ms will f**k it up again in a future update
     
  7. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Nah, they won't break this again. They'll find something else that's working and break it instead. :)
     
  8. Aldec

    Aldec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    This certainly messed up. could not open Edge, yet IE and Google worked.
    Restarted computer and new firmware installed itself before I could sign in.
    Edge working now.
     
  9. alexd88

    alexd88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Screen at brightness under 15% is still flickering. Do you have this problem? Or is a hardware problem? Should i go angain back to the warranty?
     
    R.A.F likes this.
  10. macmee

    macmee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Reditr

    reddit says this update is a total disaster and to basically avoid it.
     
  11. coolowl

    coolowl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have checked my list of updates and don't see anything about this August 30 update, nor anything about the update mentioned here called Anniversary Update. Would someone enlighten me as to why my SP4 has not received these? Thank you.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Seeing none of the issues in the thread....

    Some of the issues are related to the AU update and the update for AU that came out on Tuesday should have fixed the CPU Issue....
     

Share This Page