Upgrade to Win10 Pro

Discussion in 'Surface Pro 6' started by wpcoe, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
    Any pitfalls, hints or tricks to upgrading an SP6 to Win10 Pro? Other than the obvious need to do a complete backup first, is it pretty easy & safe to do an in-place OS upgrade?
     
  2. Fast-T

    Fast-T Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It is easy. Takes 5 minutes max.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
     
    wpcoe likes this.
  3. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
    Wow, you were right! It only took four minutes. It took waaay longer to make backups (Windows & Macrium Reflect).
     
  4. Fast-T

    Fast-T Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I use file history. Automatically backs up everything while the surface is at the dock. No more backups before doing experiments.

    Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Mastiff

    Mastiff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    Other
    The question isn't how to upgrade. It's why the "#%&"#%& (think about an angry Donald! Duck, not Trump!) an expensive device like the Pro 6, especially higher end models (my i7 512 GB case in point) is not Pro from the start! It's just dumb and cheap of Micro$oft, even if the device is great.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,914
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Other
    They have versions with Pro, they are $100 USD more expensive and are sold through the Business Store.

    Buy Surface Pro 6 for Business - Microsoft Store
     
  7. Mastiff

    Mastiff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    Other
    Not in Norway, as far as I have seen.
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,914
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Other
    Typically these would be B2B purchases...usually something that sells to Business Customers and sale Enterprise Software, in the US places like CDW, SoftwareOne, SHI, etc.
     
  9. Turbo4AWD

    Turbo4AWD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    Other
    Thinking of doing this in the near future myself. Easy enough of an upgrade?
     
  10. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
    *Very* easy.
     
    Turbo4AWD likes this.
  11. jott27

    jott27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have some difficulty in understanding the negative reaction of some for the lack of Win10 Pro. The added features of the Pro version are only useful for some and not every business users. The ones who desperately need to have the extra capability should easily afford to invest the extra U$ 100. For the rest of us, this money could be spent in better ways. I am glad that MS provided the Win10 without the extra Pro features. I hate to spend money for something I don't need. I am sure that a lot of users would agree with me.
     
  12. ender

    ender New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    How?
    Link? PM
     

Share This Page