USB 3.0 hub on sp3?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by puma, Jun 27, 2014.

  1. puma

    puma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Can anyone recommend a USB 3 hub they are using for connecting the sp3 with a keyboard, mouse, monitor?

    I am using a hub right now with the ethernet adapter, keyboard and mouse and I am getting some ports going dark here and there. I think I need something a little better. It's just the hub built into the dell ultrasharp monitor.

    Thanks!
     
  2. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Try this one. It's pricey but works great.

    http://www.amazon.com/Display-Unive...1403881302&sr=1-16&keywords=anker+hub+usb+3.0
     
  3. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
  4. bkydcmpr

    bkydcmpr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I would not spend $119 on those third party hubs when sp3 dock is at $199, unless if there are some compact powerless USB 3.0 hub actually work.
     
  5. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I already had the Anker one that I was using with another laptop, and it works just fine with the SP3.
     
  6. puma

    puma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Well I am not looking for anything for the monitor. I just need 3 usb ports off the sp3.
    I tried the plugable, but the cpu was at 20% at all times with it. So I removed it. I even downloaded the latest drivers.
     
  7. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Strange. My DisplayLinkManager only uses about 0.2-0.5% of the CPU. It fluctuates but it doesn't go up that high.
     
  8. bkydcmpr

    bkydcmpr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    good to know that one doesn't work well even with external power. I'll just go with the official dock if I need more ports, the dock uses the secret mystery power connector pins.
     
  9. jimkraz

    jimkraz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have a Inatek round USB3 4 port powered hub on my Surface Pro, works fine, Inateck 360-Degree Interface Mini Design Portable USB 3.0 4-Port Hub with 5V 4A Power Adapter and 3ft USB 3.0 Cable in amazon.co.uk
     
  10. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  11. Seneleron

    Seneleron Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
  12. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @Seneleron

    OMG... that's crazy :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

camera not working usb hub surface pro 3

,

plugable surface lightroom

,

portable usb hub sp3

,

sp3 ports

,

sp3 usb

,

sp3 usb ethernet

,

sp3 usb hub

,

surface pro 3 usb hub

,

surface pro 3 usb hub not working

,

usb hub not working with surface pro 3