Use as an alarm clock

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Ben Freedman, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Ben Freedman

    Ben Freedman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Howdy...

    I'm trying to use the included Metro Alarm Clock app to wake myself up like I used to do with my old Android tablet...

    What I've found is that, after making sure the alarm is set to use notifications...

    1) With screen on, the alarm is perfect
    2) With the device in 'light sleep' mode for just a few minutes, it wakes up and rings
    3) Here's the problem. After sleeping for a few hours (like, overnight), the alarm will not wake up and ring...

    This renders the alarm basically useless, as I always try to get at least 4 hours sleep :)

    Is there any way to fix this or make it ALWAYS wake up for the alarm? I need to be able to trust it if it's to be my alarm clock.

    Thanks!

    Best,

    Ben
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I sometimes use the HD Alarm Clock, which has a "night mode". See if that works. Don't oversleep because of me, though.
     
  3. Ben Freedman

    Ben Freedman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does the 'night mode' still let the computer sleep? I don't want the screen on all night, draining the battery while I'm asleep..???

    Best,

    Ben
     
  4. enthuz

    enthuz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    App looks good, but many reviews state that it doesn't work as advertised. Hate to waste money if it doesn't work overnight as advertised. As for the battery issues, I would just plug it up for overnight use.
     
  5. Ben Freedman

    Ben Freedman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ---> Yes... the obvious solution, or I just could use a real alarm clock. What I'm looking for is a solution that I can use without being plugged in. Hoping to replicate my previous iPad / Android experience...

    Sounds like I'm out of luck, however...

    Best,

    Ben
     
  6. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Do you not have a phone? That's what I use for my alarm.
     
  7. Ben Freedman

    Ben Freedman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ---> Sure! Or I could just buy an iPad.... :)

    I guess I have my answer. Thanks anyways...

    B.
     
  8. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Aka an alarm clock. I do not understand this thread. Clearly you don't actually have a requirement for using your surface for an alarm clock. So to ask again, what is wrong with your phone?
     
  9. Ben Freedman

    Ben Freedman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's simple. With my previous ipad and android tablets, I could use them reliably as an alarm clock without being plugged in. My question was whether this was possible with a Surface Pro 3 on batteries, just like I did with the previous items.

    Doesn't matter why, or what other devices I could possibly use as an alarm clock. I believe my question is asked and answered...

    TL;DR: No... It can't.

    B.
     
  10. Antitoon

    Antitoon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am wondering whether this might be possible by disabling connected standby and putting the device to sleep (*not* hibernation). I don't know whether it is possible to have wake-up hooks in classic sleep or not, it might be. I will leave some more experienced user answering this.
     
  11. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    In my opinion your comment could be a little bit unappropriate.

    For example:

    I have no cellphone (yep, 2014 and no cellphone, no facebook. It exists.) and today I had to wake up to pick up my girlfriend at work.

    Usually, when my girlfriend wakes up after me, I use her iPhone as an alarm clock. It works perfectly. Otherwise I use my tablet. Since I've bought my SP3, I've never had the need to use it at an alarm. But this morning, it was the only thing I had in my house to wake me up (no kids yet).

    And guess what ? It didnt work. I've put 3 alarms, and none of them worked.

    Hopefully I woke up by myself on time.

    But not everybody has a cellphone, nor a classic alarm clock, nor a radio. And as my SP3 has an alarm clock app built in, I was expecting it to work. And I dont feel stupid using it.
     
  12. wmgreenjr

    wmgreenjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    If taking a nap under four hours it'll work regardless; but if going to sleep for longer than that then just plug it in. Not sure that I see the issue.

    If you are going to sleep for a long time, you probably want it plugged in anyway just to make sure the battery doesn't go dead. Maybe I am misunderstanding the overall issue though.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
alarm surface 3
,
how to set an hourly alarm on my surface pro 3
,
set an alarm on surface pro 3
,
surface alarm issue hibernated
,
surface pro 3 alarm
,

surface pro 3 alarm clock

,
surface pro 4 alarm clock
,
surface pro alarm
,
using microsoft surface as alarm clock
,
using my surface as an alarm clock