Using the Pro 3 to scan documents.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by ctitanic, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The Pro 3 does a lot of things well, scanning documents is not one of them. But one of my friends MVP have found a workaround that she shares at her blog.

    fastenwithcleartape.jpg
     
    Raggarkungen, Billy64 and annabanana like this.
  2. cmergel

    cmergel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    PNW
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Nice! Very useful hack!
     
    kristalsoldier likes this.
  3. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Interesting. My BlackBerry Z30 takes good scans with a scanner app.
     
  4. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I do the same on my iPhone, works beautifully.
     
  5. Clovismod

    Clovismod Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Using the same trick on my SP3 since 2 months. Highly recommended. And shame to MS on this point. That's really my only real gripe against this exceptional hardware, the best I've ever own.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,103
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Barb is resourceful....I really don't see the point for me personally as Office Lens on my Windows Phone does a great job and creates a OneNote File, Word Doc or PPT for me...
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Those are very useful, I use them at times when I need to free a hand from holding a magnifying glass to work on something. kudos to Barb for creativity.
     
  8. Clovismod

    Clovismod Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Maybe because I'm working in areas without wifi and because LTE isn't cheap?
     
  9. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Though it's no excuse for the camera on the SP3 to suck so bad, I just used my iPhone to take a picture of a document and then saved it in OneNote. I was then able to use it in OneNote on the SP3.

    I really don't have a need for the camera on the SP3 so it's really a non issue for me. I am happy that people are finding ways to get around it.
     
  10. rabilancia

    rabilancia Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    Barb's trick got me thinking...

    Several years ago, Microsoft Research had a project to use early generation Windows Phone devices to take close-up pictures. They sent out free devices (like the one in the first attached picture) to those of us that requested them. I still have mine.

    Once I found where I had placed it, I took the following two [2] close-ups with my Surface Pro 3: one before and one after I taped the magnifying glass to my SP3.

    As you can see, I took the close-up with the magnifying glass much closer and it is still much sharper.

    It's certainly not a replacement for the better camera that we really deserve, but I thought I'd share. :)

    Rich

    20141126_134735.jpg SURFACEPRO3 - WIN_20141126_134354.JPG SURFACEPRO3 - WIN_20141126_134453.JPG
     
  11. ptrkhh

    ptrkhh Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I wish that I could 'pair' the camera of my SP3 with my phone's camera, so that the SP3 thinks that I took the photo with SP3's camera.
     
  12. rabilancia

    rabilancia Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    Since I have an Eye-Fi device (even though I'm not using it with my current setup) I've got this working with my Android (Galaxy Note 4) and my SP3. I have installed the Android Eye-Fi app on my Note 4 and Eye-Fi Center on my SP3. Whenever I take a picture with my phone (as long as my phone & SP3 are on the same WiFi network), the picture gets automatically transferred from my phone to my SP3.

    I think you may need a registered Eye-Fi card to get this to work, but I may be mistaken.

    Another option is to sync your phone's pictures with a cloud service that also syncs with your SP3. This solution might take a few minutes for a sync to complete and the pictures to get to your SP3.

    Good luck,
    Rich
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to scan a document on surface pro 3
,

how to scan docs using surface 3 pro

,

how to scan on surface pro 3

,

how to scan using surface pro 3

,
scan documents with surface pro 3
,
scan with surface pro 3
,

scanning with surface pro 3

,
surface pro 3 camera scan document
,

surface pro 3 document scan

,
surface pro 3 scanning