Using the Surface Pro 3 to develop software

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by nilsk123, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. nilsk123

    nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I plan on buying the surface pro 3 i5 with 8 gb of ram this upcoming week. As a student in software development, I want to use it to create c# applications using visual studio and java apps using netbeans and eclipse. I'm also going to be developing for mobile phones and tablets.

    Before I shell out 1500 euros, is there anything i should know about the surface that might be an issue? For example, I have read about hyper v disabling the connected stand by mode.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    Nothing you have listed that you plan to use the Surface Pro should be impacted by what you have been reading. Several forum member here are using their Surface for similar purposes. In short, don't look for problems. ;)
     
  3. MiloTheGreat

    MiloTheGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, one thing.

    The function keys are a slight pain in the rear. If you like to listen to music the play/pause doubles on the F5 function key. Home is F9, End is F10, Pgup is F11, Pgdn is F12, possibly the most used keys in Visual studio.

    Apart from that.... no.

    Function lock with Fn+Caps lock.
     
    Samstables likes this.
  4. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    There is a key combination that permanently switches the FN key on.
     
  5. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Home/End/PgUp/PgDn are also Fn + arrow keys.
     
    hughlle likes this.
  6. MiloTheGreat

    MiloTheGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Nice one....
     
  7. MiloTheGreat

    MiloTheGreat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Yes, I posted this.... in my question Fn + Cap locks.
     
  8. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    i am also a c# developer, visual studio may enable hyper-v, battery drain maybe fast, other than that, all good.

    welcome aboard and happy coding
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  9. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
    As for Fn key issues, I use AutoHotKey to have all of necessary keys. F5, Home, End, etc.

    I'm a C# programmer too, and I have i5/256 SP3.
     
    unruledboy likes this.
  10. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I use a full size USB keyboard and all issues solved.
     
    mahdi75 likes this.
  11. Samstables

    Samstables New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you! This has been bugging me for AGES - my cat stood on the keyboard at somepoint and locked Fn but I couldn't undo it (I use the functions way more frequently than F keys I've discovered!)
     
  12. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If only there was software that allowed us to customise which keys acted as function keys, and which act as F keys. I use F4+5 constantly, the other 10 though, couldn't care less, and most of those remaining F keys all contain functions i'd regularly use. Maybe MS will sort something in the future.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
developing on a surface pro 3
,
developing on surface pro 3
,
eclipse on surface pro 3
,

software development on surface pro 3

,
surface 3 visual studio eclipse
,
surface pro 3 eclipse
,
surface pro 3 eclipse crash
,

surface pro 3 for development

,

surface pro 3 for software development

,

surface pro 3 software development