Visual studio

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by nilsk123, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. nilsk123

    nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can i install visual studio safely without losing connected standby support? I know hyper-v disables it. Does hyper-v always install or only if you install windows phone developer tools.

    I want to develop metro apps but i dont want to lose connected standby.
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Do a custom install....I believe you will loose the Phone Emulator though....

    I personally use my MSDN Azure Benefit for my developer machine....have a VM running SQL 2014 and VS 2013....connect to it via Remote Desktop
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You can also disable Hyper-V after installing VS.
     
  4. mahdi75

    mahdi75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iran
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I use this tutorial to quickly enable/disable Hyper-V. (Just requires a reboot)
    So when I'm developing software I enable Hyper-V, and other times I disable it so I have connected standby.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

microsoft aurface visual studio

,

surface pro 3 hyper-v develop metro app

,

surface pro 3 visual studio connected standby

,

visual studio and connected standby

,

visual studio surface