Want to Skip Password on Restart

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by DavidZ, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. DavidZ

    DavidZ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have 2 SP4s. One is an M3 and the other an i5.

    I want to be able to restart both SP4s without a password. Based on an Internet search, I ran netplwiz.exe and unchecked the box that says "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer." This fix worked on one SP4 but not the other.

    More Internet searching found that, if the above remedy doesn't work, there's a registry edit that I can try. I'm very hesitant to do registry edits and will only do so as a last resort.

    Why does the above fix work on one SP4 but not the other? The only difference I can think of is the SP4 that's still prompting me for a password on restart has a user name (in addition to my email address for my MS account) while the SP4 that restarts without a password doesn't have a user name.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That should work. Do you have a local account on both as well as a Microsoft account. Are you logged in with the local account?

    If all else fails try ticking the box again. Restart and try unticking it.
     
  3. DavidZ

    DavidZ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    No, I don't. I saw that, but I don't understand what it means, Further, I don't understand the whole login process. For example, am I logging into my PC or am I also logging into my MS account? What is a local account? Is this all explained somewhere?

    I did that many times.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Go settings - accounts and you can create a local account there. That doesn't keep things like OneDrive from syncing. I'm just tossing that out as a possible solution. I don't know where there is a specific guide that discusses local vs MS accounts but there probably is one somewhere.
     
  5. DavidZ

    DavidZ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Thanks. I created a local account and now it starts without a password or lock screen. Funny thing is, based on an Internet search, I had to shut down and power up to get rid of the lock screen. Just restarting got rid of the password, but not the lock screen.
     

Share This Page