What's new/changed with Surface Pro 6?

Discussion in 'Surface Pro 6' started by wpcoe, Oct 4, 2018.

  1. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
  2. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
    The power adapter in the photos of the SP 6 looks identical to the one for the SP 2017 (can we call it SP 5 now? :)) so I wonder if the Surface Dock which works with the SP 2017 will work with the SP 6.

    The only other changes I can see with the update to SP 6 are:

    -- no more base (m3) model line, only i5 and i7 models
    -- addition of black color option
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Of course, it will that's the whole point.

    No 4GB RAM.
    Something something with the screen.
     
  4. wpcoe

    wpcoe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Thailand
    My Device:
    SPro
  5. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What! They put Win 10 Home on the Pro? Why's that?
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They lowered the price by $100 and you can upgrade for $100, that could be welcomed by people that don't care about the Pro edition. However, the Business SKU is available with Pro installed and in addition on the i5 you get an 8350U CPU vs the 8250U, the i7 CPU is the same regardless.
     
    BubbaUK likes this.
  7. ashepherd

    ashepherd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    How about the SP3 dock with the SP4 spacer? This did work with the SP 2017 although Microsoft were never prepared to confirm this.
     
  8. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That figures for the USA, but in the UK the price has dropped £30 but the upgrade is £110, so we lose out about £80 (approx $105). Hrmmphh.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just out of curiosity what does the Business SKU cost there? I'm not sure where you find it though, in the US it's sold by vendors such as CDW.
     
  10. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've no idea what the business SKU costs here in the UK, nothing on the MS UK website either. Probably need a business account to access the pricing.
     
  11. stufried

    stufried New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    What is going on with the LTE models on the 6?>
     
  12. Turbo4AWD

    Turbo4AWD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    The 2017 Surface Pro is a Quad Core processor too?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

azs

,

whats new on surface pro6