Why does my screen look bad?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by Tylervit, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. Tylervit

    Tylervit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I just received my surface pro in the mail, and I'm loving it. Its taking time adjusting to the keyboard from my huge desktop keyboard, but thats a personal issue lol

    But why does my screen look really bad? Is it Windows 8? The screen? While in firefox now i have no issues, but my desktop looks like crap right now and some of my app icons in the Windows 8 Interface look like crap. Any explanation why?

    Capture.PNG
     
  2. souldier

    souldier Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    What do you mean?
     
  3. Tylervit

    Tylervit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I'm not quite sure what verbage I should use. The pixels are very "messed up" in some regions on the surface as you can see at the bottom of the image I posted. With such a high resolution, I wouldnt expect that to happen. Sure, its a minor detail, but I've never seen that happen on any tablet or any device.
     
  4. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    That image looks great on my RT screen. Not sure what your issue is.
     
  5. Tylervit

    Tylervit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Wow I just checked from my phone and the image does look perfect. Here is a pic I took with my phone, notice the bottom of the screen.

    photo(1).JPG
     
  6. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Charge your Surface :D
     
  7. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Now that is strange. It sort of looks like there is one of those screen films that comes on new devices on it. A return may be in order if the screen is clean and nothing is on it.
     
  8. Tylervit

    Tylervit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    The weird thing is that I can move a window over those spots and itll fix it. But then somewhere in the internet browser I'll get the same issue. I was assuming that I would potentially have to send it back, but I was really hoping not :/

    And its almost at full charge now lol. Thanks guys I'll let you know if something gets figured out.
     
  9. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    I would try a refresh followed by a reset. Can't hurt to try before having to return.
     
  10. magicrobots

    magicrobots New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that sounds like a software thing - something a little berserk in your video driver or something. Do what J515OP suggests; hopefully that'll do it - and if not then at least you'll be positive that you got a lemon. Which would suck.
     
  11. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    I recall Apple having a problem with an earlier iPad model where they blamed it on, 'the glue is still drying'...
     
  12. Tylervit

    Tylervit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Just to update, I called Microsoft and they sent me a replacement within 2 days. They have a separate batch of units for exchanges so it was a quick process. Screen looks great now :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
forum my display looks off
,

my surface pro 2 screen gone bad

,
second screen windows looks bad
,

surface bad screen

,

surface rt screen resolution bad

,
surface with bad screen resolution
,

why does my resolution look bad

,

why does my second screen look bad

,
why does vhtome look bad on syrface
,

why is my surface rt screen white and messed up