Wifi 300Mbps 2.4ghz

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by OPC9, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. OPC9

    OPC9 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi there,

    I'm from Germany, sorry for my english.

    My Surface connects to a maximum of 65mbit on the 2.4ghz channel.

    If I disable Bluetooth, the value reverts to 130mbit.

    On my laptop there is a setting in the wifi options
    "802.11n Channel Width for band 2.4". If I make this value by 20 to "auto" I immediately instead of 130mbit 300Mbit.

    Unfortunately, this setting is missing from my Surface. I found a tutorial pro 2 unlock the Surface this setting. Maybe you can take on the Surface Pro 3?

    To lock Surface to 802.11 b / g band-you-can-use 'regedit'.

    Open Desktop -> Search -> regedit

    Open regedit. Select menu Edit -> Find ...

    Enter "AutoUse40Mhz" -> do search.

    There are 2 entries in registry search. We need to change one, located under "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SYSTEM \ CurrentControlSet \ Control \ Class \" branch.

    Set "AutoUse40Mhz" to "0" (It has value "1" by default)

    Set "band" to "4" (It has value "6" by default)

    Reboot and Surface want to connect using 802.11 b / g "band".

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/.../c593dff8-61b3-496c-b8f2-f9deb3e4b35e?page=26


    In the registry I can not find it.

    Thanks
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you lock Surface to 802.11 b / g you will never achieve 300 mbps.
     
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Basically, the issue that you have is a known issue and MS is still working in a fix. Be sure to have all Windows update installed.
     
  4. OPC9

    OPC9 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    okay thanks. This option I would need. With this setting my laptop wlan go from 130mbit to 300Mbit. 20mhz to auto.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The SP3 driver does not have that option. But you can force your Access Point to use only 40 MHZ if you want. Capture1.JPG
     
  6. double07

    double07 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

300 mbps surface pro 3

,

autouse40mhz

,

surface 3 300mbit

,
surface pro 2 40mhz
,

surface pro 3 wifi 300 nmbps

,

surface pro 3 wifi 300mbps

,

surface pro 3 wifi 40mhz

,
surface pro 4 wifi problem 300
,
surface rt autouse40mhz band 11n
,
wifi channel width surface pro 4